Examples of Books Found in the JSCC Library Online Catalog -- Print
Essential Supreme Court Decisions
Call Number: KF4547.4 .V55 2010
Publication Date: 2010-08-16
A Companion to the United States Constitution and Its Amendments
Call Number: KF4550 .V55 2011
Publication Date: 2011-08-19
Examples of Electronic Books Found in the JSCC Library Online Catalog -- E-Books
An Introduction to the Principles of Morals and Legislation
Publication Date: 1996-01-01
The Laws That Shaped America
Publication Date: 2009-04-14
Publication Date: 2007-08-23
Finding Resources in the JSCC Library Online Catalog
You can use the JSCC online catalog either on or off campus. To get to the catalog, go to the Library homepage address: http://library.jscc.edu
When you are in the Library homepage, click this link in the box titled, "Resources": Find a Book/DVD/Video.
You can search either the onlne catalog for print books, videos, pamphlets, DVDs, audios, CD-ROMs, and a great number of electronic books (e-books). Electronic books can be read online, either on or away from campus.
In the online catalog, it is not necessary to separate keywords with AND, OR, or NOT; just type the keywords. You can search by: Keyword, Author, Title, Subject and Call Number.
Print books that you find in your online catalog searching will usually have Library of Congress call numbers. The call number is unique to each book, DVD, video, or other cataloged resource title.
Since call numbers are created according to the various subjects of books being cataloged, you will find books that have the same or similar subjects grouped together on the Library's shelves.
Most books can be checked out for two weeks -- with one two-week renewal.
Some materials, such as College Textbooks or some Reserve materials, can only be checked out for in-Library use for a short period of time. Books labeled as "REF" or "Reference" cannot be checked out at all.
The "Location" area in book records (and for other resources as well) tells where the book or item is located. JSCC Library has several small collections of books, such as: Health Sciences Area; Juvenile Collection; College Textbooks; Reserve Room; Tennessee Collection; and, DVD Collection. These smaller collections are separate from the Book Stacks, where Circulating books are shelved.
E-books found in the online catalog:
Search for electronic books by typing keywords in the search line and clicking on "Submit." If your search is successful, you will retrieve a list of books; electronic books may be among the retreived items. Or, you can do an Advanced Search in the JSCC Library catalog, and limit your 'Material Type' to EBOOK; this will ensure that the books you might retrieve from your search are electronic books.
How do you tell when you have found an eBook in the catalog? Electronic books do not have call numbers, such as print books have, and they are listed under the location of "JSCC Electronic Resource." The eBooks are not found on the shelves, but are read online. Catalog users, provided they are JSCC students or work at JSCC, can access eBooks both on and off campus; other Library patrons can only read the eBooks in the Library.
How do you get into an e-book in order to read it? First, click on the title; it is underlined, and is a link to another page. When you have done this, you will find more information about the book, and also will see a box that says, "Online Availability:" Under this box will be one or more links; JSCC students use the link that says, "Jackson State Community College Authorized Users"
When you have clicked into this second link, you will be taken to the electronic book's "eBook Details" site; this will usually be NetLibrary, since most of JSCC's electronic books are NetLibrary books. Once you are in the "eBook Details" site, you only have to click on the link "View this eBook" to actually get into the text of the book.
Finding and Accessing Even More Electronic Books Owned by the JSCC Library
Although there are thousands of electronic books included in the JSCC online catalog, the Library subscribes to other e-book resources -- electronic book databases. These can be found under the Find E-books only link in the "Resources" box on the Library website.
Databases under this link include: EBSCO E-Books; Ebrary; Google Books; Safari; Nursing Electronic Book Collections I and II; Scribner Writer's Online; and, Twayne's Authors Online.