Examples of Books to be found in the JSCC Library on the topic of: RESPIRATORY CARE
Finding Resources in the JSCC Library Online Catalog
You can use the JSCC online catalog either on or off campus. To get to the catalog, go to the Library homepage address: http://library.jscc.edu
When you are in the Library homepage, scroll down to the box titled "Resources," under the big picture at the top of the website homepage. Click into the link, Find a Book/DVD/Video; this will take you into the online catalog.
Once in the catalog, you can begin searching for materials on your subject. Type your search in the search box beside the search option box; you can search by: Keyword, Author, Title, Subject and Call Number.
When you have typed in your search words and clicked on "Submit" a list of titles will come up -- provided your search is successful. The titles which are most relevant to the search words you typed will appear first in the list.
You can also search by Keyword using other words. Think of words that might be used to retrieve information on your subject, in this case, 'respiratory care.' For example, you can use these keywords:
respiratory treatment respiratory management respiratory therapy
If you are not finding what you need by using a Keyword search, try searching for your topic using a Subject search. Next to the Search line, click the down arrow and highlight the option "Subject." Search for the topic, "respiratory care."
You will find that the subject search does not bring up a list of books, but instead directs you to subject headings relating to respiratory care, such as: respiratory intensive care, respiratory emergencies, and respiratory insufficiency. To the right of these subject headings will be a number, indicating the number of books JSCC Library owns on this subject. To see these lists, click into the Subject heading, which is an underlined link.
Think of what you need to find in your research work, and create a list of keywords that can be used to help you find this information!
Print books that you find in your online catalog searching will have Library of Congress call numbers. The call number is unique to all books, and is usually placed on the lower part of the spine of the book.
Since call numbers are created according to the subject of books, you will find books that have the same or similar subjects grouped together on the Library's shelves.
When you have found a print books you want to look at, be sure to write down the call number so that you can find it on the shelves. Make sure that the book has a Status of "Available;" if the book is checked out to somebody already, it will say so under the Status area.
Also, note the Location of the book. JSCC Library has several small collections of books, such as: Health Sciences Area; Juvenile Collection; College Textbooks; Reserve Room; and, Tennessee Collection. These smaller collections are stored in different parts of the Library than are the books in the Book Stacks. Many of the books you will find for research on "respiratory care" will be in the Health Sciences Area.
Finding and Accessing Electronic Books Owned by the JSCC Library
There are over 55,000 electronic books in the JSCC Library online catalog. The Library owns more electronic books currently, than it does print books. How do you find eBooks on any particular topic? The electronic book records are in the online catalog, along with records of print books and other resources (DVDs, Videos, and other resources). Search for electronic books by typing a search in the search line and bringing up a list of books.
How do you tell when you have found an eBook in the catalog? Electronic books do not have call numbers, such as print books have, and they are listed under the location of "JSCC Electronic Resource." The eBooks are not found on the shelves, but are read online. Catalog users, provided they are JSCC students or work at JSCC, can access eBooks both on and off campus; other Library patrons can only read the eBooks in the Library.
How are eBooks accessed? Let's say you found the eBook below in a search for 'diseases of the respiratory system' :
Respiratory disease: a case study approach to patient care
Location Call No. Status
JSCC Electronic Resource ONLINE
How do you get into this book to read it? First, click on the title; it is underlined, and is a link to another page. When you have done this, you will find more information about the book, and also will see a green box that says, "Online Availability" Under this box will be one or more links; JSCC students use the link that says, "Jackson State Community College Authorized Users."
When you have clicked into this second link, you will be taken to the electronic book's "eBook Details" site; this will usually be NetLibrary, since most of JSCC's electronic books are NetLibrary books. Once you are in the "eBook Details" site, you only have to click on the link "View this eBook" to actually get into the text of the book.
Notice, when you have accessed the eBook, that there is usually a Table of Contents on the left side of the screen; often, an Index will be included as well, at the end of the Table of Contents. Below the TOC is a box marked "Search this eContent;" you can use this box to find specific pages on a particular topic -- provided information about this topic has been included by the author in the eBook.
Electronic Book Collections for Health Sciences
This collection contains electronic books in full-text, and is designed for the use of healthcare and medical sciences students or professionals. Access the Titles tab to find a list of books included in this collection. Nursing Electronic Book Collection is located in the JSCC Library Databases, under the general topic area of "Health Sciences."