This is the "Home" page of the "Abnormal Psychology. JSCC Library Resources." guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Abnormal Psychology. JSCC Library Resources.  

Last Updated: May 17, 2013 URL: http://libguides.jscc.edu/abnormalpsychology Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Finding Journal Articles in Psychology

  • Masterfile Premier
    Contains full-text articles in over 1700 magazines and journals. Good for articles in psychology
  • Psychology Collection
    Excellent source for finding journal articles in psychology
  • Wilson Omnifile
    Wilson OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition contains full-text periodical articles from a tremendous variety of journals. Covers all types of topics and goes back to 1982 for some articles.

Web Sites in Psychology

  • Classics in the History of Psychology
    "A full-text collection of 'historically significant public domain documents from the scholarly literature of psychology and allied disciplines.'

    There are 20 books and over 100 articles and chapters available, as well as links to over 170 relevant works. Also available is a Primary Source Reading Suggestions for History of Psychology Courses along with the context and rationale for inclusion. Developed by a college professor at York University in Toronto."
  • Encyclopedia of Psychology
    "The Encyclopedia of Psychology is intended to facilitate browsing in any area of psychology. There are two paths envisioned for this purpose:

    Original information generated by respected researchers and practitioners in various fields of psychology.

    A hierarchical database of links to websites providing information about scientific psychology." Maintained by a professor at Jacksonville State University.

Finding books and audio-visual material in the JSCC Library

  • JSCC Library Online Catalog
    You will be able to locate books (both print and electronic), DVDs, VHS tapes, and audio CDs through the Online catalog.

  • ebrary
    Ebrary is a collection of 26,000 available electronically.

APA Style

  • APA Style
    This is an overview of how to cite various items in APA style based on the new edition of the APA Publication Manual.
 

Scholarly (Peer Reviewed Journals)

Scholarly journals are publications which are aimed at a specific audience of people in a particular profession.  They contain articles by writers or researchers very knowledgeable  in a particular field. 

Sometimes these journals are peer reviewed.   With peer-reviewed journals, articles are submitted to a group of experts in the field to examine the article for credibility, valid research results, etc. before the article is published.  These are some of the most authoritative sources you can find since they have been "refereed" by experts.

 

What is the Difference Between Scholarly and Non-Scholarly Periodicals?

Scholarly Periodicals publish articles that are useful for serious scholastic research; often, instructors will insist that students use only scholastic periodicals for their research work. 

 

Scholarly periodicals are also referred to as Academic Journals or Academic Newspapers, Journals, or Refereed Journals.  "Refereed" means that not only is the journal edited, but that every article included in the journal is reviewed by authorities in the subject field of the journal, to decide whether or not the article should be published.

 

Some criteria of a scholarly journal or other scholarly periodical is:

 

   •     The journal is  mostly read by people

            involved in or interested in the field

            of study covered by the journal

     •     Articles are often lengthy, and include

           footnotes or endnotes and works cited

           information

     •     Graphs, charts, statistical information,

           and tables are often used to support

           the text or research

     •     The vocabulary is geared to the field

           of study covered by the journal 

     •     The articles are very often peer

            reviewed (refereed)

 

 Non-Scholarly Periodicals publish articles that are not considered or meant to be of a highly serious, scholastic nature. 

 

This is not to say that the articles in any given non-scholastic magazine or newspaper are false or badly written.  It only means that, for scholarly research purposes, non-scholarly periodicals do not have the recognized level of authority that a scholastic journal usually has.

 

 Some criteria of a magazine or other non-scholarly periodical is:

 

      •     The periodical appeals to a general

             audience; the vocabulary is geared

             to all readers

     •     Graphs, tables, and research studies

            are seldom included

     •     The articles usually do not have

            footnotes, endnotes, or

            bibliographies (works cited)

     •     The articles tend to be short in length,

            usually under 10 pages

My Profile

Scott Cohen
Contact Info
Send Email
 

Welcome from the Librarian in your Course

Hi.  I am Scott Cohen.  I will be the Librarian in your course.  Please contact me if you need assistance in locating journal articles for the Article Reviews that you will be doing in the course.  

You can contact me at 1-800-731-425-2615 outside of Madison County and 425-2615 in Madison County.  You can email me through the course or outside the course at scohen@jscc.edu

 Please use this guide to assist you in finding articles and in doing research for your course.

>
 

Accessing JSCC Library resources from home

To access the JSCC Library resources (electronic books, electronic databases, etc.) from off-campus, you will be asked for your Netlogon. 

 This is the username and password you use to access computers on campus,  JWEB or your Elearn classes.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip