This is the "Home" page of the "American History 2010 Online" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

American History 2010 Online  

Last Updated: Jun 11, 2014 URL: http://libguides.jscc.edu/americanhistory2010online Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding a book about Manifest Destiny

You have access to over 57,000 printed books and 150,000 electronic books.  To find books about MANIFEST DESTINY, please type that term into the search box for the  Online Catalog

Also try the 80,,000 electronic books in the ebrary collection.  Please type Manifest Destiny into the search box.  You go to "FInd E-books Only" under the photograph on the JSCC Library home page to get to ebrary.

 

Interlibrary Loan

If you need a book that the JSCC Library doesn't own, please contact Sara Saddler at    ssaddler@jscc.edu
Provide her with the author, title, date of publication and publisher.

The Library then asks another library to loan us the book.  We use the Online College Library Center to connect us to most academic libraries in the country.

It takes about 2 weeks for a book to be sent here from another library.

Difference Between Primary and Secondary Sources

Using Google Scholar to find Journal Articles on Manifest Destiny

Google Scholar provides access to scholarly articles dealing with Manifest Destiny.  Some of the articles are not available in full-text. 

You will see the designation "Eresources at JSCC" when the article is in the JSCC Library. 

Also you can click on JSTOR and get those articles from the JSCC Library.   Other articles will be available, but not all are in full text.



Finding Journal Articles About Manifest Destiny

  • Humanities Full Text
    This database provides full text of journal articles from history, as well as literature.
  • JSTOR
    Find older articles in full-text here. Some articles are from the early 1900's
  • US History Collection
    40 journals in American History are available in full-text in this database.
 

American History in Video

Do you want to view a video presentation on a Manifest Destiny?  Use the JSCC Library's American History in Video series.

From off campus, you will be asked for your Netlogon.

Citing your Sources

Finding Background Information about Manifest Destiny

Here are some excellent resources that provide overviews about Manifest Destiny.

Why use primary sources in History

  • Using Primary sources
    "Primary sources are the raw materials of history — original documents and objects which were created at the time under study. They are different from secondary sources, accounts or interpretations of events created by someone without firsthand experience.

    Examining primary sources gives students a powerful sense of history and the complexity of the past."

Getting Help from the JSCC Library

Primary Source Materials

  • Primary Documents in American History
    "The Library of Congress is home to many of the most important documents in American history.

    This Web site provides links to materials digitized from the collections of the Library of Congress that supplement and enhance the study of these crucial documents."


19th Century Newspapers

  • 19th Century Newspapers
    This is a database that contains newspapers from 1800-1900. It is searchable and is very interesting.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip