This is the "Home" page of the "American History 2020 Online" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

American History 2020 Online  

Last Updated: May 17, 2013 URL: http://libguides.jscc.edu/americanhistory2020online Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding a book about Jim Crow laws

You have access to over 57,000 printed books and 150,000 electronic books.  These books can give you an in-depth look at an historical topic.

To find books in the JSCC Library, use the Online Catalog

Below  is a printed book that deals with Jim Crow in Tennessee:  It is in the Tennessee Collection in the JSCC Library.

The triumph of Jim Crow : Tennessee race relations in the 1880's

Type in Jim Crow as a keyword in the online catalog and you will get access to  many good books, both print and electronic.

Also try the 29,000 electronic books in the ebrary collection.

 

Strange Career of Jim Crow by C. Vann Woodward

 

Interlibrary Loan

If you need a book that the JSCC Library doesn't own, please contact Barbara Casey at bcasey@jscc.edu
Provide her with the author, title, date of publication and publisher.

The Library then asks another library to loan us the book.  We use the Online College Library Center to connect us to most academic libraries in the country.

It takes about 2 weeks for a book to be sent here from another library.

Finding Journal Articles About Jim Crow Laws

  • Humanities Full Text
    This database provides full text of journal articles from history, as well as literature.
  • JSTOR
    Find older articles in full-text here. Some articles are from the early 1900's
  • US History Collection
    40 journals in American History are available in full-text in this database.
 

Finding videos about Jim Crow laws

Do you want to view a video presentation on Jim Crow or Jim Crow laws?  Use the JSCC Library's American History in Video series.

From off campus, you will be asked for your Netlogon.

Finding Background Information about Jim Crow laws

Here is an excellent resource that provides an overview of Jim Crow Laws

19th Century Newspapers

Electronic books in the JSCC Library dealing with Jim Crow

 

 

  • Jim Crow Encyclopedia
    Entries discuss people and events related to the Jim Crow era.
  • The Folly of Jim Crow
    Series of essays which discuss various aspects of the Jim Crow era, including marriage laws, transportation, etc.

Getting Help from the JSCC Library

Using Google Scholar to find scholarly articles about Jim Crow Laws

Google Scholar provides access to scholarly articles dealing with Jim Crow Laws.  Some of the articles are not available in full-text. 

You will see the designation "Eresources at JSCC" when the article is in the JSCC Library. 

Also you can click on JSTOR and get those articles from the JSCC Library.   Other articles will be available, but not all are in full text.



Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip