Finding a book
You have access to over 55,000 printed books and 65,000 electronic books. These books can give you an in-depth look at an historical topic.
To find books in the JSCC Library, use the Online Catalog
Electronic books can be accessed from off-campus with your username and password.
Featured JSCC Library book
Interlibrary Loan
- Interlibrary Loan The purpose of Interlibrary Loan is to obtain materials that are not owned by the Jackson State Library and that can be obtained from other libraries. The service is offered to faculty, students and staff of Jackson State.
To reciprocate, the JSCC Library also lends materials to other libraries.
To request materials or more information regarding Jackson State's Interlibrary Loan policy, please contact Barbara Casey (731-424-3520, ext 236)
APA style
Finding scholarly journal articles dealing with Anatomy and Physiology in the JSCC Library
Remember that you can access these databases from off-campus. You will be asked for your username and password. when you click on a database from off-campus. (Your Netlogon that you use for elearn, for logging on to campus computers, etc.)
- Cinahl Full-TextCINAHL with Full Text provides indexing for over 2000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, many of which are peer-reviewed scholarly journals. Over 330 journals are available in full-text.
The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982. - General Science CollectionThis database provides full-text of many scientific periodicals.
- General Science Full-TextEasy-to-use and designed specifically for students and non-specialists, General Science Full Text is the first place to look for answers to science-related questions. This database features full text, plus the graphs, charts, diagrams, photos, and illustrations that convey an abundance of scientific information.
- Health and Wellness Resource CenterIncludes encyclopedias, directories, medical dictionary, magazines, journals, and newspapers on topics in health and medicine, medications, and wellness.
- Public Library of Science"PLoS is a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource."
Tell us What You Think
Contact the Librarian |
Scott Cohen Links: Profile & Guides |
Drug Information
- AHFS Consumer Medication InformationThe AFHS Consumer Medication Information database provides information about prescription drugs. An explanation of the drug is followed by side effects and warnings. It is published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists.
Writing Center
- Writing CenterThe JSCC Writing Center is available to help with all of your papers. See the web site for hours. Please come and make an appointment.
Reference sources
- Reference Sources in the JSCC LibraryThese sources can provide background information on a topic, define terms and clarify ideas.
Scholarly Periodicals vs. Non-scholarly periodicals
Scholarly Periodicals publish articles that are useful for serious scholastic research; often, instructors will insist that students use only scholastic periodicals for their research work.
Scholarly periodicals are also referred to as Academic Journals or Peer-Reviewed or Refereed Journals. "Peer Reviewed" and "Refereed" mean that not only is the journal edited, but that every article included in the journal is reviewed by authorities in the subject field of the journal, to decide whether or not the article should be published.
Some criteria of a scholarly journal or other scholarly periodical is:
• The journal is mostly read by people involved in or interested in the field of study covered by the journal
• Articles are often lengthy, and include footnotes or endnotes and works cited information
• Graphs, charts, statistical information, and tables are often used to support the text or research
• The vocabulary is geared to the field of study covered by the journal
• The articles are very often peer reviewed (refereed)
Non-Scholarly Periodicals publish articles that are not considered or meant to be of a highly serious, scholastic nature.
This is not to say that the articles in any given non-scholastic magazine or newspaper are false or badly written. It only means that, for scholarly research purposes, non-scholarly periodicals do not have the recognized level of authority that a scholastic journal usually has.
Some criteria of a magazine or other non-scholarly periodical is:
• The periodical appeals to a general audience; the vocabulary is geared to all readers
• Graphs, tables, and research studies are seldom included
• The articles usually do not have footnotes, endnotes, or bibliographies (works cited)
• The articles tend to be short in length, usually under 10 pages

Loading...
