This is the "Home" page of the "Anatomy and Physiology Research Resources in the JSCC Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Anatomy and Physiology Research Resources in the JSCC Library  

This guide is designed to assist Anatomy and Physiology students in Ms. Duke's lab to find information in the JSCC Library for their homework assignments.
Last Updated: May 17, 2013 URL: http://libguides.jscc.edu/anatomyduke Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding a book

You have access to over 55,000 printed books and 145,000 electronic books.  These books can give you an in-depth look at an historical topic.

To find books in the JSCC Library, use the Online Catalog

Electronic books can be accessed from off-campus with your username and password.

Interlibrary Loan

  • Interlibrary Loan  
      
    The purpose of Interlibrary Loan is to obtain materials that are not owned by the Jackson State Library and that can be obtained from other libraries. The service is offered to faculty, students and staff of Jackson State.

    To reciprocate, the JSCC Library also lends materials to other libraries.

    To request materials or more information regarding Jackson State's Interlibrary Loan policy, please contact Barbara Casey (731-424-3520, ext 236)

CBE Citation Style

Finding scholarly journal articles dealing with Anatomy and Physiology in the JSCC Library

Remember that you can access these databases from off-campus.  You will be asked for your username and password. when you click on a database from off-campus. (Your Netlogon that you use for elearn, for logging on to campus computers, etc.)

  • Academic OneFile
    "Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Contains full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily."
  • Academic Search Elite
    Great source for finding scientific journals
  • Cinahl Full-Text
    CINAHL with Full Text provides indexing for over 2000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, many of which are peer-reviewed scholarly journals. Over 330 journals are available in full-text.

    The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982.
  • General Science Full-Text
    Easy-to-use and designed specifically for students and non-specialists, General Science Full Text is the first place to look for answers to science-related questions. This database features full text, plus the graphs, charts, diagrams, photos, and illustrations that convey an abundance of scientific information.
  • Health and Wellness Resource Center
    Includes encyclopedias, directories, medical dictionary, magazines, journals, and newspapers on topics in health and medicine, medications, and wellness.
  • Public Library of Science
    "PLoS is a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource."
 

Assignments

Homework Assignments (20 pts each)

1)  Human Anatomy in Art:

     Drawing or sketch of something dealing with A&P, on a standard 8X11 sheet of paper.  Photographs are acceptable, but must show part of the human body in an artistic view.

            The purpose of this exercise is to get you to focus on details of the human body. 

 

2)  Human Anatomy and Physiology in Technology:

     A paper detailing some aspect of technology relating to human anatomy and physiology.

            The purpose of this exercise is to familiarize you with technological advances in relationship to

            human anatomy and physiology.

 

3)  Human Anatomy and Physiology in Biochemistry and Nutrition:  Choose one of the following:

Be sure to read scientific articles over the subject you choose and see if you agree with what was concluded.

     1.  A paper discussing which is better butter or margarine.  Be sure to include topics from the biochemistry chapter, cholesterol, different types of fats, hydrogenation, trans-fatty acids. 

 

     2.  A paper discussing which is better a diet rich in shellfish or one rich in poultry.  Be sure to include topics from the biochemistry chapter, cholesterol, HDL, LDL, Saturated fat.

 

     3.  A paper discussing Omega-3 Fatty Acid supplements.  We know a diet rich in oil fish is beneficial, and we know that Omega-3 Fatty acid supplements are not as effective as diet rich in oil fish, but do they have any benefit for the person whose diet is not rich in oil fish?

 

     4.  Choose a dietary supplement and write a paper discussing the need, benefits, origin, etc. of that supplement.  (multivitamins, coral calcium)

 

     5.  Dietary analysis using http://www.nat.uiuc.edu/mainnat.html  Include amount of calories, saturated fat, unsaturated fat, carbohydrates, and sodium.  Give total amounts for a three day period.

 

            The purpose of this exercise is to further your knowledge of a healthy diet, dietary supplements,

            and the scientific method.

 

4)  Human Anatomy and Physiology in Forensic Science:

     Choose an aspect of forensic science that correlates with a topic from A&P I (fingerprints, hair, osteology, etc.) and write a paper on it.  Be sure to include history, contributors (people), major advances, and future aspects of the topic. 

 

            The purpose of this exercise is to further the curiosity of forensic science.  The paper may also be

            written on forensic nursing.

 

5) Human Anatomy and Physiology in Medicine:  Choose one of the following.

     1.  A paper describing a disease of one of the systems covered in A&P I,  be sure to include all aspect of the pathology of the disease—cause, conditions, cures, etc.

            The purpose of this exercise is to begin you knowledge of pathology.

 

     2.  A paper describing a drug, tell about the chemical make up of the drug, how the drug works, possible side effects of the drug, addictiveness of the drug and treatment for the addiction.  You may choose a drug used for medicinal or non-medicinal purposes.

            The purpose of this exercise is to begin you knowledge of pharmacology.

 

You must have at least 3 sources of each of the papers.

No internet sources, papers citing internet sources will not be accepted.

Two pages, double spaced.

Remember to use the CBE style for both in-text citations and for the Literature Cited page. (look on the left hand side of this guide to see the CBE style)

My Profile

Scott Cohen
Contact Info
Send Email

Drug Information

Writing Center

  • Writing Center
    The JSCC Writing Center is available to help with all of your papers. See the web site for hours. Please come and make an appointment.

Reference sources

 

Scholarly Periodicals vs. Non-scholarly periodicals

Scholarly Periodicals publish articles that are useful for serious scholastic research; often, instructors will insist that students use only scholastic periodicals for their research work. 

 Scholarly periodicals are also referred to as Academic Journals or Peer-Reviewed or   Refereed Journals.  "Peer Reviewed" and  "Refereed" mean that not only is the journal edited, but that every article included in the journal is reviewed by authorities in the subject field of the journal, to decide whether or not the article should be published.

 Some criteria of a scholarly journal or other scholarly periodical is:

   •     The journal is  mostly read by people  involved in or interested in the field  of study covered by the journal

     •     Articles are often lengthy, and include footnotes or endnotes and works cited  information

     •     Graphs, charts, statistical information, and tables are often used to support  the text or research

     •     The vocabulary is geared to the field of study covered by the journal 

     •     The articles are very often peer  reviewed (refereed)

  Non-Scholarly Periodicals publish articles that are not considered or meant to be of a highly serious, scholastic nature. 

 This is not to say that the articles in any given non-scholastic magazine or newspaper are false or badly written.  It only means that, for scholarly research purposes, non-scholarly periodicals do not have the recognized level of authority that a scholastic journal usually has.

 Some criteria of a magazine or other non-scholarly periodical is:

      •     The periodical appeals to a general  audience; the vocabulary is geared  to all readers

     •     Graphs, tables, and research studies  are seldom included

     •     The articles usually do not have  footnotes, endnotes, or  bibliographies (works cited)

     •     The articles tend to be short in length,   usually under 10 pages

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip