Last Updated: Jan 16, 2015
You have access to over 54,,000 printed books and 190,000 electronic books. These books can give you an in-depth look at literary topics
To find print and electronic books in the JSCC Library, use the Online Catalog
Choose "Jackson State Community College Authorized Users" when choosing an electronic book title from the Online Catalog.
You will be asked for your Netlogon to access the electronic books in the Online Catalog.
- Literature Resource Center
"Provides biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline, combining Gale's most used literary databases to cover more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers,"
- Magill On Literature Plus
MagillOnLiterature Plus provides critical analyses and descriptions of major works of literature, as well as information on individual authors.
- Scribner's Writers Series
"Multiple perspectives on the most studied literary names." Contains over 1400 articles about authors from throughout the world and from all time periods."
- Twayne's Authors Series
"With in-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers from Aeschylus to Zora Neale Hurston, this online series features the content of nearly 300 books that comprise part of three print series: Twayne's United States Authors, Twayne's English Authors and Twayne's World Authors
- Credo Reference
Provides background information on topics from reputable subject encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Also links to many other JSCC Library resources.
- Reference Sources in the JSCC Library
Here is a list of Reference sources that can be used to find background information. These include various subject encyclopedias, dictionaries and other resources. You will find these very useful.
For other databases, go to http://library.jscc.edu
Choose "Find a Journal Article"
- Academic Onefile
This database provides access to full-text articles in magazines and journals from throughout the English speaking world.
- CQ Researcher
Explores a single current issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. 44 reports are produced each year including four expanded reports, available back to 1991.
- Issues and Controversies on File
Provides up-to-date, in-depth and objective information on over 250 prominent and hotly debated issues of the day. It combines objective analysis, clear explanations of opposing points of view and special features, so you can quickly grasp the essentials of even the most complex topics. It includes chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies and contact information.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that creates and maintains an archive of important scholarly journals. "JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines, including ecology, economics, history, language, literature, mathematics and sociology."
- Masterfile Premier
Contains full-text articles in over 1700 magazines and journals. Indexing and abstracts for over 2700 titles. Subjects covered include general interest, business, health, social sciences, education, humanities, news and current events. Useful for almost any topic.
As a dual enrollment student, you can use the online resources of the JSCC Library, but you can also check out up to 8 books since you are a student at Jackson State.
If you come to the campus library, a librarian will be on duty to assist you find information.
Please call Scott Cohen at 425-2615 or email him at firstname.lastname@example.org if you are having difficulty in locating information for you paper.