This is the "Home" page of the "JSCC Library Resources for Dual Enrollment English Comp I class at Bradford High" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

JSCC Library Resources for Dual Enrollment English Comp I class at Bradford High  

This guide is designed to assist students in the dual enrollment English comp I class at Bradford High to find information in the JSCC Library.
Last Updated: Oct 8, 2013 URL: http://libguides.jscc.edu/bradford Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding a book

You have access to over 57,000 printed books and 145,,000 electronic books.  These books can give you an in-depth look at literary topics

To find books in the JSCC Library, use the Online Catalog

You will be asked for your Netlogon to access the electronic books in the Online Catalog. 

To just look for electronic books, please use Find ebooks only   (choose Ebsco ebooks and Ebrary)

Accessing the JSCC Library from Home

When you access the JSCC Library electronic databases or electronic books, you will be prompted for a username and password.  This is your Netlogon

If you don't have your Netlogon, you can go to jweb (jweb.jscc.edu) and click on Netlogon Tools.  If you don't know your J number (campus ID number), you can ask your guidance counselor for that information.

Fill out the form (your campus ID is your J number).  You will be given a username by the system and you will be asked to create yourpassword. 

Be sure to write your username and password down somewhere.  If you have difficulties, call Scott Cohen at 1-800-355-5722, ext 51615 or email him at scohen@jscc.edu

      

    Reference works in the JSCC Library

    • Credo Reference
      Credo Reference can be used to find background information. These include various subject encyclopedias, dictionaries and other resources. You will find these very useful.

    Finding Magazines and Journals

    For other databases, go to http://library.jscc.edu/find-resources/find-a-journal.html

    Scroll down to the list of databases by category.

    • Academic Onefile
      This database provides access to full-text articles in magazines and journals from throughout the English speaking world.
    • JSTOR
      JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that creates and maintains an archive of important scholarly journals. "JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines, including ecology, economics, history, language, literature, mathematics and sociology."
    • Literature Resource Center
      Provides biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline, combining Gale's most used literary databases to cover more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers.
    • Magill on Literature Plus
      MagillOnLiterature Plus provides critical analyses and descriptions of major works of literature, as well as information on individual authors.
    • Masterfile Premier
      Contains full-text articles in over 1700 magazines and journals. Indexing and abstracts for over 2700 titles. Subjects covered include general interest, business, health, social sciences, education, humanities, news and current events. Useful for almost any topic.

    Literature- Streaming Video

    • Literature-Streaming Media
      There are a wide variety of literary streaming media selections from Chaucer to Alice Walker, available through the JSCC Library

      Click on the one that you would like to watch.
      You will be asked for your Netlogon (username and password)

    Using the JSCC Library

    As a dual enrollment student, you can use the online resources of the JSCC Library, but you can also check out up to 8 books since you are a student at Jackson State. 

    If you come to the campus library, a librarian will be on duty to assist you find information. 

    Please call Scott Cohen at 425-2615 or email him at scohen@jscc.edu if you are having difficulty in locating information for you paper.

        

      Internet Resources

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip