LibGuides: English Composition II: Library Resources

Finding Magazines and Journals

Controversial Issues databases
Great sources for persuasive essays and papers. Objective, factual and to the point.
Gale Academic OneFile
This database provides access to full-text articles in magazines and journals dealing with all types of subjects.

JSTOR
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that creates and maintains an archive of important scholarly journals. JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high- resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines, including ecology, economics, history, language, literature, mathematics and sociology.

Literary Reference Center Plus
Literary Reference Center Plus is the definitive literary database covering all genres and timeframes. It includes thousands of full-text poems, short stories, synopses, critical essays, literary journals, reference books and author biographies.

MasterFILE Premier
Contains full-text articles in over 1,700 magazines and journals. Indexing and abstracts for over 2,700 titles. Subjects covered include general interest, business, health, social sciences, education, humanities, news and current events. Useful for almost any topic.
Nexis Uni
With more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources, Nexis Uni helps students find credible sources including online journals, national and international newspapers, and legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790.

Research Consultations

For in-depth assistance with your research, please schedule a research consultation with a librarian.

CLICK HERE TO SCHEDULE A RESEARCH CONSULTATION.

When booking your research consultation, please provide an email address other than your eLearn email address. Be sure to give as much information as possible about the assignment and the assistance that you need.

English Composition II

Finding Information in the JSCC Library

Finding Background Material on your Topic

Finding Streaming Media

Need Help? Ask a Librarian!

Finding Magazines and Journals

Research Consultations