Finding a book
You have access to over 57,000 printed books and 145,000 electronic books. These books can give you an in-depth look at literary topics
To find books in the JSCC Library, use the Online Catalog
You will be asked for your Netlogon to access the electronic books in the Online Catalog.
Streaming Media
- Literary videosYou have access to various films about works of literature.
- Learn a Foreign LanguageYou have access to learning 34 foreign languages. Emphasis is on conversational aspects of the language.
Featured Book
Accessing the JSCC Library from Home
When you access the JSCC Library electronic databases or electronic books, you will be prompted for a username and password. This is your Netlogon that you received when you registered.
If you haven't created your Netlogon, go to www.jscc.edu
Scroll down the page until you see "Activate Netlogon" on the right hand side.
Fill out the form (your campus ID is your J number). You will be given a username by the system and you will be asked to create yourpassword.
Be sure to write your username and password down somewhere. If you have difficulties, call Scott Cohen at 1-800-355-5722, ext 615 or email him at scohen@jscc.edu
Reference works in the JSCC Library
- Reference Sources in the JSCC LibraryHere is a list of Reference sources that can be used to find background information. These include various subject encyclopedias, dictionaries and other resources. You will find these very useful.
Finding Magazines and Journals
For other databases, go to http://library.jscc.edu
Choose "Find a Journal Article"
- Academic OnefileThis database provides access to full-text articles in magazines and journals from throughout the English speaking world.
- CQ ResearcherExplores a single current issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. 44 reports are produced each year including four expanded reports, available back to 1991.
- Issues and Controversies on FileProvides up-to-date, in-depth and objective information on over 250 prominent and hotly debated issues of the day. It combines objective analysis, clear explanations of opposing points of view and special features, so you can quickly grasp the essentials of even the most complex topics. It includes chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies and contact information.
- JSTORJSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that creates and maintains an archive of important scholarly journals. "JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines, including ecology, economics, history, language, literature, mathematics and sociology."
- Masterfile PremierContains full-text articles in over 1700 magazines and journals. Indexing and abstracts for over 2700 titles. Subjects covered include general interest, business, health, social sciences, education, humanities, news and current events. Useful for almost any topic.
- Points of ViewArticles, primary sources and video content dealing with major issues. Features different points of view about many topics.
Using the JSCC Library
As a dual enrollment student, you can use the online resources of the JSCC Library, but you can also check out up to 8 books since you are a student at Jackson State.
If you come to the campus library, a librarian will be on duty to assist you find information.
Please call Scott Cohen at 425-2615 or email him at scohen@jscc.edu if you are having difficulty in locating information for you paper.
Citation Guides
Internet Resources
- Internet Public LibraryReputable Internet sites on various topics. The sites have been chosen by librarians

Loading...
