Last Updated: May 11, 2016
You have access to over 54,000 printed books and 190,000 electronic books. These books can give you an in-depth look at literary topics
To find books in the JSCC Library, use the Online Catalog
You will be asked for your Netlogon to access the electronic books in the Online Catalog.
- Scribner's Writers Online
"Multiple perspectives on the most studied literary names." Contains over 1400 articles about authors from throughout the world and from all time periods.
- Twayne's Authors Online
"With in-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers from Aeschylus to Zora Neale Hurston, this online series features the content of nearly 300 books that comprise part of three print series: Twayne's United States Authors, Twayne's English Authors and Twayne's World Authors."
When you access the JSCC Library electronic databases or electronic books from off-campus , you will be prompted for a username and password.
This is your Netlogon that you use to log on to campus computers or when you use Elearn.
- Artemis Literary Resources
Provides biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. This database covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers.
- Bloom's Literature
Great place to look for information about authors and their works. Has reference essays, literary criticism and other information from books and literary journals.
- Hunanities Full Text
This database feature full-text articles from scholarly journals in various fields in the humanities. (language, literature, music, philosophy, etc.) Over 330 journals are covered in full text.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that creates and maintains an archive of important scholarly journals.
JSTOR features older articles, some of which were written in the 19th century, though it does feature some recent articles. It is a great source for journal articles in the literature field.
- Magill On Literature Plus
MagillOnLiterature Plus provides critical analyses and descriptions of major works of literature, as well as information on individual authors.
Please call Scott Cohen at 425-2615 or email him at firstname.lastname@example.org if you are having difficulty in locating information or in using the JSCC Library.