Finding Books, DVDS and Videos in the JSCC Library About Countries
- JSCC Library Online CatalogTo find both printed and electronic books, as well as DVDs and Videos, use the JSCC online catalog.
- ebrarySearch over 29,000 electronic books for your term paper topic. These scholarly books are excellent sources
Comments (0)
Streaming Media
- World History in VideoView Videos right online using World History in Video. These streaming media sources are from the History Channel and A&E.
Finding scholarly articles through Google
Google Scholar provides access to scholarly articles. Unfortunately, some of the articles may not be available online. You can ask for a copy of the article through the Jackson State Community College Interlibrary loan service at no charge.
Contact Barbara Casey (bcasey@jscc.edu) Give her as much information about the article as possible. (author, title of journal, article title, date of issue, volume number)
It can take up to two weeks to get the article to you, so please allow enough time.
Finding Journal Articles about Countries in World Civilization in the JSCC Library
- Academic Search EliteThis database features over 2000 full-text journals many of which can help you in your term paper topic.
- Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure CollectionLook here for articles about tourism in foreign countries
- JSTORJSTOR provides access to older scholarly articles not available in other databases. This database would be useful for information on historical sites in various countries.
Getting Background Information about Countries
- Credo ReferenceFind background information about a country using reliable subject encyclopedias. You can go right from here to various sources in the library.
- CIA World Factbook"The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities."
Travel Information
- National GeographicGreat information on countries. Has a search box.
- Travel LibraryInteresting site that provides information about travel in various countries.
Foreign Country cultures
- A-Z World CulturesA-Z World Cultures provides cultural information about many countries. Excellent for determining customs of a country.
Using the JSCC Library from Home
You can access electronic books, journal articles, and streaming media sources through the JSCC Library from off-campus by using the username and password that you have for getting into your online class.
Google Advanced Search
- Google Advanced SearchYou can limit your search to particular domains such as
edu, gov, org by using Google Advanced Search.
Finding Streaming Media
- Finding streaming mediaTry these sources to find films and images.

Loading...
