This guide will assist students in locating information in the JSCC Library for essays and reports
Last Updated: Dec 21, 2014
You have access to over 54,000 printed books and 190,,000 electronic books. These books can give you an in-depth look at literary topics
To find books in the JSCC Library, use the Online Catalog
You will be asked for your Netlogon to access the electronic books in the Online Catalog.
You can also search a group of 80,000 electronic books that are not in the Online Catalog through Ebrary.
When you access the JSCC Library electronic databases or electronic books from off-campus , you will be prompted for a username and password.
This is your Netlogon that you use to log on to campus computers or when you use Elearn.
- Credo Reference
Provides excellent background information on topics from reputable subject encyclopedias and dictionaries.
- Reference Sources in the JSCC Library
Here is a list of Reference sources that can be used to find background information. These include various subject encyclopedias, dictionaries and other resources. You will find these very useful.
For other databases, go to http://library.jscc.edu
Choose "Find a Journal Article"
- Academic Onefile
This database provides access to full-text articles in magazines and journals from throughout the English speaking world.
- Controversial Issues Databases
Here you will find objective looks at controversial issues.
CQ Researcher, Issues and Controversies and Opposing Viewpoints will be there.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that creates and maintains an archive of important scholarly journals. "JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines, including ecology, economics, history, language, literature, mathematics and sociology."
- Literature Resource Center
Provides biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline, combining Gale's most used literary databases to cover more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers.
- Magill on Literature Plus
MagillOnLiterature Plus provides critical analyses and descriptions of major works of literature, as well as information on individual authors.
- Masterfile Premier
Contains full-text articles in over 1700 magazines and journals. Indexing and abstracts for over 2700 titles. Subjects covered include general interest, business, health, social sciences, education, humanities, news and current events. Useful for almost any topic.
Please call Scott Cohen at 425-2615 or email him at firstname.lastname@example.org if you are having difficulty in locating information or in using the JSCC Library.