Finding a book
You have access to over 55,000 printed books and 145,000 electronic books. These books can give you an in-depth look at an historical topic.
To find books in the JSCC Library, use the Online Catalog
Also try the 26,000 electronic books in the ebrary collection.
You may also want to come into the JSCC Library and browse in the various subject areas of the library. Searching the indexes of printed books can be very helpful.
Interlibrary Loan
If you need a book that the JSCC Library doesn't own, please contact Barbara Casey at bcasey@jscc.edu
Provide her with the author, title, date of publication and publisher.
The Library then asks another library to loan us the book. We use the Online College Library Center to connect us to most academic libraries in the country.
It takes about 2 weeks for a book to be sent here from another library.
Getting help in Lexington
If you need help looking up information while you are at the Lexington Center, please contact Deborah Wilson in the Learning Resource Center.
She can assist you in obtaining a book from the main campus, using the electronic databases and locating citation information for your sources.
Finding Journal Articles About Historical Topics
- Academic Search EliteThis is a multi- disciplinary resource, covering thousands of magazines and journals.
- Humanities Full TextThis database provides full text scholarly journal articles in history and other subjects.
- JSTORFind older articles in full-text here. Some articles are from the early 1900's. There is some outstanding historical material here.
- US History Collection40 journals in American History are available in full-text in this database.
American History in Video
Do you want to view a video presentation on a topic that you are studying in American History? Use the JSCC Library's American History in Video series.
From off campus, you will be asked for your Netlogon.
Citing your Sources
- Finding out about Turabian, MLA and APAThis web site provides guides to the various citation styles.
Finding Background Information about American History
Here is an excellent resource that provides overviews of topics in American History or provides biographical information.
Electronic books
- Landmarks of African American History"Describes a variety of landmarks and buildings that represent the experiences and accomplishments of African Americans throughout the history of the United States. "
Gettting Assistance from the JSCC Library
You can contact the JSCC Library by phone (1-800-355-5722, ext 52609)
or use the Ask a Librarian service on the JSCC Library home page.
- Ask a LibrarianYou can contact the JSCC Library through the Ask a Librarian site

Loading...
