Last Updated: Jul 23, 2016
- JSCC Library Online Catalog
The JSCC Library Online Catalog provides access to printed and electronic books available in the JSCC Library.
To check out a book from the library, you will need your JSCC photo ID.
You can look at electronic books right on your computer. If you are on campus, you can read them right away, but if you are off-campus, you will be asked for your Netlogon. (the way you log on to computers on campus)
Google Books allows you to look at excerpts of books in many different subject areas. You cannot print or cut and paste from Google Books, just read the texts.
However, books from Google Books can be requested through the JSCC Libray interlibrary loan service. It takes about 2 weeks to get a book back from another library, so please give yourself some time.
To get help in finding information:
- Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
Includes information on more than 1,600 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. Written for a general audience with an authoritative tone.
Google Scholar provides references to scholarly journal articles. In some cases the full-text of the article is provided, but mostly just citations are given.
Interlibrary Loan may be needed for some of these references.
- Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.
- Cinahl COMPLETE
CINAHL COMPLETE provides indexing for over 2000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982. CINAHL with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for 1,150 journals and provides full text for 331 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1982 are also included.
- Health and Wellness Resource Center
Includes encyclopedias, directories, medical dictionary, magazines
- Pub Med
The most comprehensive database of medical journals in the world.
Provided by the National Library of Medicine, it leads to many journal citations, but also some full-text articles.
Interlibrary loan may be needed if only journal citations are given.
You may want to browse through these journals in the Health Sciences area of the Library to see if there are any recent articles on your topic:
- Lab Medicine
- MLO (Medical Laboratory Observer)
If there is a journal article or book that is not available in the JSCC Library, you can request these items from other libraries through the JSCC Library Interlibrary Loan Department.
Contact Robyn Hicks (firstname.lastname@example.org) or 731-424-3520, ext.50327. Please give her as much information as you can about the item.
It usually takes about 2 weeks to get materials back from other libraries, so please allow enough time.