This guide will assist students to find information about nutrition in the JSCC Library.
Last Updated: May 19, 2013
You have access to over 55,000 printed books and 145,,000 electronic books. These books can give you an in-depth look at an historical topic.
To get access to all the books in the JSCC Library, use the Online Catalog
You can limit your search to ebooks by clicking here: Ebooks only
- Credo Reference
Credo can provide you with background information on nutritional topics from reputable subject encyclopedias and dictionaries.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
"Includes information on more than 1,600 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. Written for a general audience with an authoritative tone."
- Interlibrary Loan
The purpose of Interlibrary Loan is to obtain materials that are not owned by the Jackson State Library and that can be obtained from other libraries. The service is offered to faculty, students and staff of Jackson State.
To reciprocate, the JSCC Library also lends materials to other libraries.
To request materials or more information regarding Jackson State's Interlibrary Loan policy, please contact Barbara Casey (731-424-3520, ext 236)
- Academic OneFile
"Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Contains full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily."
- Cinahl Full-Text
CINAHL with Full Text provides indexing for over 2000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, many of which are peer-reviewed scholarly journals. Over 330 journals are available in full-text.
The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982.
- Health and Wellness Resource Center
Includes encyclopedias, directories, medical dictionary, magazines, journals, and newspapers on topics in health and medicine, medications, and wellness.
- Masterfile Premier
Access to over 2000 magazines and journals.
- Internet Public Library search
This site provides a guide to Internet resources by subject chosen by librarians for their authority and reliability.
- Nutrition and Your Health: Dietary Guidelines for Americans
"The Guidelines provide authoritative advice for people two years and older about how good dietary habits can promote health and reduce risk for major chronic diseases. They serve as the basis for Federal food and nutrition education programs." Includes current and past issues of the Guidelines, tips for using the Guidelines, and related links. A joint publication of the U.S. departments of Health and Human Services and Agriculture."
"Providing easy, online access to government information on food and human nutrition."
- Mayo Clinic
"More than 3,300 physicians, scientists and researchers from the Mayo Clinic share their expertise to empower you to manage your health."
To access any of the JSCC Library resources (journals, magazines, electronic books, etc), you will be asked for your username and password.
This is the same that you use to access Elearn, Jweb or a computer on campus.