Finding a book
You have access to over 57,000 printed books and 145,000 electronic books. These books can give you an in-depth look at a topic.
You can find books on such topics as Plant Science, Horticulture. Botany, Plant classification, Soils, Plant pests, and Plant Genetics
To find books in the JSCC Library, use the Online Catalog
Electronic books can be accessed from off-campus with your username and password.
Interlibrary Loan
- Interlibrary Loan The purpose of Interlibrary Loan is to obtain materials that are not owned by the Jackson State Library and that can be obtained from other libraries. The service is offered to faculty, students and staff of Jackson State.
To request materials or more information regarding Jackson State's Interlibrary Loan policy, please contact Barbara Casey (731-424-3520, ext 236)
Citation Style Manuals
Finding scholarly journal articles dealing with Plant Science in the JSCC Library
Remember that you can access these databases from off-campus. You will be asked for your username and password. when you click on a database from off-campus. (Your Netlogon that you use for elearn, for logging on to campus computers, etc.)
- Academic OneFile"Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Contains full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily."
- Academic Search EliteGreat source for finding scientific journals
- Agriculture Collection"With broad coverage of agriculture and its related fields, this collection provides a comprehensive view of this growing body of knowledge. Comprised of hundreds of journals and magazines, researchers will have access to current and authoritative content that spans the industry -- from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture."
- Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture CollectionFull text articles dealing with all aspects of horticulture.
- General Science Full-TextEasy-to-use and designed specifically for students and non-specialists, General Science Full Text is the first place to look for answers to science-related questions. This database features full text, plus the graphs, charts, diagrams, photos, and illustrations that convey an abundance of scientific information.
Using the JSCC Library resources from off-campus
All the JSCC Library electronic resources are available off-campus. You will be asked for your your username and password (your Netlogon) when you choose one of the electronic resources from off-campus.
Plant Science Journal in the JSCC Library
Horticulture Magazine
is available quarterly in print in the JSCC Library. It features articles about plants and plant care.
Contacting a librarian
You can contact a librarian in the JSCC Library for assistance by phoning 424-3520, ext 50572. You can also go to the JSCC library home page
(http://library.jscc.edu) and click on "Ask a Librarian" at the top of the page.
Streaming media
Web sites for Plant Science
- Ohio State University Online Plant DictionaryMore than a dictionary, it provides a search engine for web links dealing with plants.
- Plant PhysiologySearch through all issues of this journal from 1926-2011.
- Soils: National Conservation Resources Service"Soils is part of the National Cooperative Soil Survey, an effort of Federal and State agencies, universities, and professional societies to deliver science-based soil information;"
- Tennessee Department of Agriculture

Loading...
