What is a primary Source?
Writing Center at Jackson State
- Writing CenterThe Writing Center (located in the JSCC Library building)is available to you to go over your lab reports and to make sure that you are following the APA Guidelines for the primary source articles that you find.
Interlibrary Loan
- Interlibrary Loan The purpose of Interlibrary Loan is to obtain materials that are not owned by the Jackson State Library and that can be obtained from other libraries. The service is offered to faculty, students and staff of Jackson State.
To reciprocate, the JSCC Library also lends materials to other libraries.
To request materials or more information regarding Jackson State's Interlibrary Loan policy, please contact Barbara Casey (731-424-3520, ext 236) You can also email her at bcasey@jscc.edu
Please give her as much information about the article or book that you can (author, title of journal or book, date of issue of journal, volume number, etc.)
Citation Style Manuals
Finding Scholarly Primary Source Journal Articles dealing with General Biology topics in the JSCC Library
Remember that you can access these databases from off-campus. You will be asked for your username and password. when you click on a database from off-campus. (Your Netlogon that you use for elearn, for logging on to campus computers, etc.)
- Academic OneFile"Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Contains full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily."
- Academic Search EliteGreat source for finding scientific journals
- General Science Full-TextEasy-to-use and designed specifically for students and non-specialists, General Science Full Text is the first place to look for answers to science-related questions. This database features full text, plus the graphs, charts, diagrams, photos, and illustrations that convey an abundance of scientific information.
- JSTORFind primary sources in older biology journals.
- Public Library of Science: Biology"Public Library of Science is a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource"
Using the JSCC Library resources from off-campus
All the JSCC Library electronic resources are available off-campus. You will be asked for your your username and password (your Netlogon)
Contact Information
Sarah Allen, Adjunct Faculty in Biology, and Scott Cohen, Library Director are coordinating this assignment.
Sarah Allen (sallen26@jscc.edu) and Scott Cohen (scohen@jscc.edu)
APA style
Primary Source Quizzes
Finding Primary Source Material using Google Scholar
Key Words for Searching
You will be looking for articles dealing with the differences in height between men and women.
In the library databases, you will need to search using keywords: Here are some suggested keywords.
Height and Genetics
height and gender
stature and men and women
stature and gender
stature and genetics or stature and heredity
Height and men and women
Height and Differences and men and women
Physiology and differences and height and stature
boys and girls and height
females and males and height

Loading...
