Finding Journal Articles in Psychology
- Psychology CollectionThis database provides access to many journals in the field of psychology.
- Wilson OmnifileWilson OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition contains full-text periodical articles from a tremendous variety of journals. Covers all types of topics and goes back to 1982 for some articles.
Web Sites in Psychology
- Classics in the History of Psychology"A full-text collection of 'historically significant public domain documents from the scholarly literature of psychology and allied disciplines.'
There are 20 books and over 100 articles and chapters available, as well as links to over 170 relevant works. Also available is a Primary Source Reading Suggestions for History of Psychology Courses along with the context and rationale for inclusion. Developed by a college professor at York University in Toronto."
Finding books and audio-visual material in the JSCC Library
- JSCC Library Online CatalogYou will be able to locate books (both print and electronic), DVDs, VHS tapes, and audio CDs through the Online catalog.
If you are at one of the off-campus centers,and find a book that is in print in the JSCC Library online catalog, please request it from the Learning Resource Center Assistant at your location.
Reference Materials
- Credo ReferenceBackground information on topics in psychology
- Encycyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.
APA Style
- APA StyleThis is an overview of how to cite various items in APA style based on the new edition of the APA Publication Manual.
Scholarly (Peer Reviewed Journals)vs Non-Scholarly periodicals
Scholarly Periodicals publish articles that are useful for serious scholastic research; often, instructors will insist that students use only scholastic periodicals for their research work.
Scholarly periodicals are also referred to as Academic Journals or Academic Newspapers, Journals, or Refereed Journals. "Refereed" means that not only is the journal edited, but that every article included in the journal is reviewed by authorities in the subject field of the journal, to decide whether or not the article should be published.
Some criteria of a scholarly journal or other scholarly periodical is:
• The journal is mostly read by people
involved in or interested in the field
of study covered by the journal
• Articles are often lengthy, and include
footnotes or endnotes and works cited
information
• Graphs, charts, statistical information,
and tables are often used to support
the text or research
• The vocabulary is geared to the field
of study covered by the journal
• The articles are very often peer
reviewed (refereed)
Non-Scholarly Periodicals publish articles that are not considered or meant to be of a highly serious, scholastic nature.
This is not to say that the articles in any given non-scholastic magazine or newspaper are false or badly written. It only means that, for scholarly research purposes, non-scholarly periodicals do not have the recognized level of authority that a scholastic journal usually has.
Some criteria of a magazine or other non-scholarly periodical is:
• The periodical appeals to a general
audience; the vocabulary is geared
to all readers
• Graphs, tables, and research studies
are seldom included
• The articles usually do not have
footnotes, endnotes, or
bibliographies (works cited)
• The articles tend to be short in length,
usually under 10 pages
My Profile |
Scott Cohen, Library Director Contact Info Please contact me if you have questions about finding information about psychology in the JSCC Library Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Accessing JSCC Library resources from home
To access the JSCC Library resources (electronic books, electronic databases, etc.) from off-campus, you will be asked for your Netlogon.
This is the username and password you use to access computers on campus, JWEB or your Elearn classes.

Loading...
