This guide will assist Physical Therapy Assistant students to find information in the JSCC Library
Last Updated: Jan 18, 2016
- JSCC Library Online Catalog
The JSCC Library Online Catalog provides access to printed and electronic books available in the JSCC Library.
To check out a book from the library, you will need your JSCC photo ID.
You can look at electronic books right on your computer. If you are on campus, you can read them right away, but if you are off-campus, you will be asked for your Netlogon. (the way you log on to computers on campus)
PT in Motion
Pediatric Physical Therapy
These journals are located in the Health Sciences section of the library.
- CINAHL Complete
"CINAHL Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals."
- Health and Wellness Resource Center
Includes encyclopedias, directories, medical dictionary, magazines
- Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine
This database provides access to physical therapy articles.
- Physical Therapy
Physical Therapy is the Journal of the American Physical Therapy Association. You can search all back issues and view the contents of each article before 2015. There is a search box in the upper right hand corner.
The most recent articles will can be viewed in the CINAHL Complete database.
- ICE Video Library
The ICE Video Library provides excellent visual resources to both faculty and students in physical and occupational therapy curriculum all videos are filmed with actual patients and therapists in real-life treatment settings including acute care, skilled nursing, outpatient, home health and ICU. Diagnosis include, musculoskeletal, nervous system, mental & behavioral disorders, respiratory, and pediatrics
- Credo Reference
Background information from many different subject encyclopedias and dictionaries comprise the Credo Reference series. Credo also provides direct links to other library resources.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
Includes information on more than 1,600 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. Written for a general audience with an authoritative tone.
- American Physical Therapy Association
The professional organization for physical therapists.
- Center for Disease Control
The premier US government site dealing with diseases.
- Medscape (from WEBMD)
A commercial web site with trusted medical information.
- Medline Plus
Trusted health information from the National Library of Medicine.
- Physical Therapist Assistant edu
Valuable information on becoming a Physical Therapist Assistant
- Healthy People 2020
"Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. For 3 decades, Healthy People has established benchmarks and monitored progress over time in order to:
Encourage collaborations across communities and sectors.
Empower individuals toward making informed health decisions.
Measure the impact of prevention activities."
Google Scholar enables you to find a professional journal that you might not find using a library database. However, the full article is only available in about half the searches. Look for the link on the right hand side of the search results for those materials that are fully available.
To find a blog or chat room or a .com website dealing with a topic, you will want to do a search like this:
tuberculosis (your topic) blog (you could substitute the word "support group", "chat room" or some other similar topic