Finding a book
- JSCC Library Online CatalogThe JSCC Library Online Catalog provides access to printed and electronic books available in the JSCC Library.
To check out a book from the library, you will need your JSCC photo ID.
You can look at electronic books right on your computer. If you are on campus, you can read them right away, but if you are off-campus, you will be asked for your Netlogon. (the way you log on to computers on campus)
Google Books
Google Books allows you to look at excerpts of books in many different subject areas. You cannot print or cut and paste from Google Books, just read the texts.
However, books from Google Books can be requested through the JSCC Libray interlibrary loan service. It takes about 2 weeks to get a book back from another library, so please give yourself some time.
Getting Research Help
To get help in finding information:
- Call 731-424-3520, ext 50572 or
- Fill out this online form:
http://library.jscc.edu/library-services/ask-a-reference-question.html
Reference books
- Gale Encyclopedia of MedicineIncludes information on more than 1,600 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. Written for a general audience with an authoritative tone.
Finding journal articles
- Academic OneFileAcademic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.
- Cinahl Full TextCINAHL with Full Text provides indexing for over 2000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982. CINAHL with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for 1,150 journals and provides full text for 331 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1982 are also included.
- Health and Wellness Resource CenterIncludes encyclopedias, directories, medical dictionary, magazines
- Pub MedThe most comprehensive database of medical journals in the world.
Provided by the National Library of Medicine, it leads to many journal citations, but also some full-text articles.
Interlibrary loan may be needed if only journal citations are given.
Radiologic Technology Journals in the JSCC Library
You may want to browse through these journals in the Health Sciences area of the Library to see if there are any recent articles on your topic:
- Applied Radiology
Available in print from 2001-present in the Health Sciences area
Available online through the publisher's web site (http://www.appliedradiology.com/) Click on "Journal" at the top
Available through the following database in full-text
- Radiologic Technology
Available in print from 2000- present in the Health Sciences area
Indexed in the Cinahl Full-Text database
- Imaging & Therapy Practice
This professional journal comes from England and presents a different viewpoint on topics. It is located in the Health Science area.
Interlibrary Loan
If there is a journal article or book that is not available in the JSCC Library, you can request these items from other libraries through the JSCC Library Interlibrary Loan Department.
Contact Barbara Casey (bcasey@jscc.edu) or 731-424-3520, ext. 236. Please give her as much information as you can about the item.
It usually takes about 2 weeks to get materials back from other libraries, so please allow enough time.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides references to scholarly journal articles. In some cases the full-text of the article is provided, but mostly just citations are given.
Interlibrary Loan may be needed for some of these references.

Loading...
