This guide will assist students taking Education classes to make full use of the resources in the JSCC Library
Last Updated: Jul 1, 2016
To get help in finding information, contact the JSCC Library:
- Go to your library discussion board in your online class or
- Call the JSCC Library at 1-800-355-5722, extension 50572 or
- Use the Ask a Librarian Form
If the library doesn't have a book you need, you can find a reference to a book using Google books. Sometimes part of the book is given to you.
The JSCC Library can get the book for you through interlibrary loan.
- Academic One File
Great source for information on a wide variety of topics in credible journal articles.
- Education Full-Text
You will be able to find complete articles in peer reviewed educational journals by using Education Full-Text
The largest education database. Indexes journals, research papers, guides, government reports, speeches. Indexes 800 periodicals, plus non-journal publications called ERIC documents.
The text of the journal articles is not provided, but many ERIC documents are available in full-text.
- Professional Collection
Articles from more than 300 full-text periodicals covering a variety of topics for teachers/educators, including: health and fitness, school law, drug and alcohol abuse, learning disabilities, sports, arts and humanities, social sciences, and psychology.
- Common Core State Standards in Tennessee
"The Common Core State Standards will prepare Tennessee students with essential knowledge and skills to compete in an increasingly global environment. These standards emphasize thinking, problem-solving and creativity through next generation assessments that go beyond multiple-choice tests to increase college and career-readiness among Tennessee students."
- Education World
"The site supports K-12 school administrators and teachers by providing information on lesson plans, curriculums, books in education, school administration, special themes, and educational Web site reviews. Browse or search by keyword a database of more than 120,000 educational sites."
- National Assessment of Educational Progress: The Nation's Report Card
"The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) is the only nationally representative, continuing assessment of what America's students know and can do in various subject areas." Learn how students at the national and state levels perform in geography, mathematics, science, reading, writing, and other topics. Includes a directory of state participants.
- No Child Left Behind
"This official government website provides information about the No Child Left Behind Act, an "education law signed by President Bush on January 8, 2002." Includes an overview of the legislation, fact sheets, progress updates, news releases, and resources for parents. From the U.S. Department of Education."
- The Special Ed Advocate - Special Education Law
"This site, by a special education attorney, provides parents, educators, and attorneys with advocacy information and special education law for children with disabilities. It provides the texts of case laws, statutes, and federal regulations, including the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). Also includes an online bulletin board and free online newsletter (archived on the site). The author's books and consultations are for sale on site."
- Education Week on the Web
"The site for public issues in K-12 education. Provides access to recent and past Education Week and Teacher Magazine articles. Supplies background information for educational issues, such as homeschooling, vouchers, and uniforms. Links to state education sites, statistics, and report cards, and gathers education related articles from various media sources across the country. Searchable."