Finding a book
You have access to over 57,000 printed books and over 145,000 electronic books. These books can give you an in-depth look at literary topics
To find books in the JSCC Library, use the Online Catalog
You will be asked for your Netlogon to access the electronic books in the Online Catalog.
Accessing the JSCC Library from Home
When you access the JSCC Library electronic databases or electronic books, you will be prompted for a username and password. This is your Netlogon that you received when you registered.
If you haven't created your Netlogon, go to jweb.jscc.edu
Click on Netlogon tools
Fill out the form (your campus ID is your J number). You will be given a username by the system and you will be asked to create your password.
Be sure to write your username and password down somewhere. If you have difficulties, call Scott Cohen at 1-800-355-5722, ext 615 or email him at scohen@jscc.edu
Finding Magazines and Journals
For other databases, go to http://library.jscc.edu/find-resources/find-a-journal.html
Choose "Find a Journal Article"
- Academic OnefileThis database provides access to full-text articles in magazines and journals from throughout the English speaking world.
- JSTORJSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that creates and maintains an archive of important scholarly journals. "JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines, including ecology, economics, history, language, literature, mathematics and sociology."
- Literature Resource CenterProvides biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline, combining Gale's most used literary databases to cover more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers.
- Masterfile PremierContains full-text articles in over 1700 magazines and journals. Indexing and abstracts for over 2700 titles. Subjects covered include general interest, business, health, social sciences, education, humanities, news and current events. Useful for almost any topic.
Reference works in the JSCC Library
- Credo ReferenceCredo Reference provides background information on many different topics. It also leads directly to other resources in the JSCC Library.
- Reference Sources in the JSCC LibraryHere is a list of Reference sources that can be used to find background information. These include various subject encyclopedias, dictionaries and other resources. You will find these very useful.
Citation Guide
Getting Research Assistance
Call Scott Cohen at 1-800-355-5722 ext. 615 for research assistance or email him at scohen@jscc.edu
Finding Newspaper Articles
- Index to Jackson SunFind newspaper articles on topics in West Tennessee by using the Index to Jackson Sun.
- Lexis NexisLexis Nexis has full text articles from many of the major newspapers in English speaking countries.

Loading...
