This is the "Home" page of the "JSCC Library Resources for Dual Enrollment classes at Scotts Hill" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

JSCC Library Resources for Dual Enrollment classes at Scotts Hill  

This guide will assist you in finding information in the JSCC Library that may help you in your Dual Enrollment class.
Last Updated: Mar 18, 2015 URL: http://libguides.jscc.edu/scottshill Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding a book

You have access to over 54,000 printed books and 190,000 electronic books.  These books can give you an in-depth look at many different types of topics.

To find printed and electronic books in the JSCC Library, use the Online Catalog.

Also, try ebrary, a collection of over 80,000 electronic books.

You will be asked for your Netlogon to access the electronic books in the Online Catalog and ebrary.

Accessing the JSCC Library from Home

When you access the JSCC Library electronic databases or electronic books, you will be prompted for a username and password.  This is your Netlogon that you received when you registered.

If you haven't created your Netlogon, go to Jweb.

Scroll down the page until you see "Netlogon tools"

Fill out the form (your campus ID is your J number).  You will be given a username by the system and you will be asked to create your password. 

Be sure to write your username and password down somewhere.  If you have difficulties, call Scott Cohen at 1-800-355-5722, ext 615 or email him at scohen@jscc.edu

      

    Finding Magazines and Journals

    For other databases, go to http://library.jscc.edu/find-resources/find-a-journal.html.  Scroll down to look at a subject arrangement of databases.

    • Humanities Full Text
      This database feature full-text articles from scholarly journals in various fields in the
      humanities. (language, literature, music, philosophy, etc.) Over 330 journals are covered in full text
    • JSTOR
      JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that creates and maintains an archive of important scholarly journals, some of which go back 100 years or more. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines, including ecology, economics, history, language, literature, mathematics and sociology."
    • Literature Resource Center
      Provides biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline, combining Gale's most used literary databases to cover more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers. Contains many scholarly journals.
    • MagillonLiterature Plus
      MagillOnLiterature Plus provides critical analyses and descriptions of major works of literature, as well as information on individual authors.

    Background Information on Authors, Literary Works, etc.

    • Credo Reference
      Background information from many different subject encyclopedias and dictionaries comprise the Credo Reference series. Credo also provides direct links to other library resources.

    Finding Scholarly Sources using Google

    Scholarly vs. Popular Periodicals

    My Profile

    Profile Image
    Scott Cohen
    Contact Info
    Send Email

    Citation Guide

     

    Getting Research Assistance

    Call Scott Cohen at 1-800-355-5722 ext. 615 for research assistance or email him at scohen@jscc.edu

    Electronic Books Specifically for Literature

    • Scribner's Writers Online
      "Multiple perspectives on the most studied literary names." Contains over 1400 articles about authors from throughout the world and from all time period
    • Twayne's Authors Series
      "With in-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers from Aeschylus to Zora Neale Hurston, this online series features the content of nearly 300 books that comprise part of three print series: Twayne's United States Authors, Twayne's English Authors and Twayne's World Authors."
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip