This is the "Home" page of the "Social Work Resources in the JSCC Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Social Work Resources in the JSCC Library  

Last Updated: Nov 18, 2015 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page

Finding Journal Articles in Social Work

You will be able to find scholarly, peer reviewed articles in the field of social work by using the electronic databases below. 

See a definition of scholarly resources in the middle column toward the bottom of the this guide.

  • Academic Search Elite
    Contains full-text articles in over 4000 magazines and journals. Good for articles in social work.
    CINAHL Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, Often CINAHL provides access to topics applicable to social work.
    You can do an ADVANCED SEARCH and limit to evidence based articles.
    Excellent source for finding older journal articles.
  • Psychology Collection
    Since social work often deals with psychological issues, this database of journal articles in psychology could be very useful.
  • Social Sciences Full Text
    Social Sciences Full Text provides access to the major journals in social work and related fields.

National Association of Social Workers

Finding books and audio-visual material in the JSCC Library

  • JSCC Library Online Catalog
    You will be able to locate books (both print and electronic), DVDs, VHS tapes, and audio CDs through the Online catalog.


What is "Evidence Based"?

This definition comes from the Social Work Policy Institute

"Evidence-Based Practice. The term evidence-based practice (EBP) was used initially in relation to medicine, but has since been adopted by many fields including education, child welfare, mental heath, and criminal justice. The Institute of Medicine (2001) defines evidence-based medicine as the integration of best researched evidence and clinical expertise with patient values."  (

Reference Materials

APA Style

  • APA Style
    This is an overview of how to cite various items in APA style based on the new edition of the APA Publication Manual.

Scholarly (Peer Reviewed Journals)

Scholarly journals are publications which are aimed at a specific audience of people in a particular profession.  They contain articles by writers or researchers very knowledgeable  in a particular field. 

Sometimes these journals are peer reviewed.   With peer-reviewed journals, articles are submitted to a group of experts in the field to examine the article for credibility, valid research results, etc. before the article is published.  These are some of the most authoritative sources you can find since they have been "refereed" by experts.


What is the Difference Between Scholarly and Non-Scholarly Periodicals?

Scholarly Periodicals publish articles that are useful for serious scholastic research; often, instructors will insist that students use only scholastic periodicals for their research work. 


Scholarly periodicals are also referred to as Academic Journals or Academic Newspapers, Journals, or Refereed Journals.  "Refereed" means that not only is the journal edited, but that every article included in the journal is reviewed by authorities in the subject field of the journal, to decide whether or not the article should be published.


Some criteria of a scholarly journal or other scholarly periodical is:


   •     The journal is  mostly read by people

            involved in or interested in the field

            of study covered by the journal

     •     Articles are often lengthy, and include

           footnotes or endnotes and works cited


     •     Graphs, charts, statistical information,

           and tables are often used to support

           the text or research

     •     The vocabulary is geared to the field

           of study covered by the journal 

     •     The articles are very often peer

            reviewed (refereed)


 Non-Scholarly Periodicals publish articles that are not considered or meant to be of a highly serious, scholastic nature. 


This is not to say that the articles in any given non-scholastic magazine or newspaper are false or badly written.  It only means that, for scholarly research purposes, non-scholarly periodicals do not have the recognized level of authority that a scholastic journal usually has.




Your instructor

James Jones is your instructor.  He can be reached through your Elearn course.



Welcome from the Jackson State Community College Library

 Please use this guide to assist you in finding articles and in doing research for your course.  If you need assistance,
 please contact Scott Cohen at or 731-425-2615


Accessing JSCC Library resources from home

To access the JSCC Library resources (electronic books, electronic databases, etc.) from off-campus, you will be asked for your Netlogon. 

 This is the username and password you use to access computers on campus,  JWEB or your Elearn classes.

List of Community Social Services Resources in West Tennessee


Loading  Loading...