This guide will assist students to locate information in the JSCC Library for their speeches.
Last Updated: May 21, 2013
- American Rhetoric
"Featuring a growing collection of text, audio, and video versions of over 5,000 speeches, this site collects 'public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events.'"
- Martin Luther King "I have a Dream speech"
If you prepare a presentation, you may want to use these possible sources of film clips:
If you access the JSCC Library's resources from off-campus, you will be asked for your username and password (Netlogon).
- General OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.
- Masterfile Premier
Contains full-text articles in over 1700 magazines and journals. Indexing and abstracts for over 2700 titles. Subjects covered include general interest, business, health, social sciences, education, humanities, news and current events. Useful for almost any topic.
- Wilson Omnifile
Wilson OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition contains full-text periodical articles from a tremendous variety of journals. Covers all types of topics and goes back to 1982 for some articles.
- CQ Researcher
Explores a single current issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.
- Issues and Controversies on File
Provides up-to-date, in-depth and objective information on prominent and hotly debated issues of the day. It combines objective analysis, clear explanations of opposing points of view and special features, so you can quickly grasp the essentials of even the most complex topics.
- Points of View
Articles, primary sources and video content dealing with major issues. Features different points of view about many topics.
Reference sources provide background information on a topic. They include such sources as encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.
- Index to Jackson Sun
The Index to the Jackson Sun provides articles about topics in West Tennessee.
- Lexis Nexis
By using Lexis Nexis, you will gain access to newspaper articles from throughout the country going back many years.
- Getting help from the JSCC Library
You can click on the above link, fill out the online form and get an answer to your question within 24 hours.
You can also call 731-424-3520, ext 50572 for assistance.
If you live outside Jackson-Madison County, you can call 1-800-355-5722, ext 50572.