Skip to main content
site header image

JSCC Library Resources for Tennessee History: Home

Finding a book

You have access to over 54,000 printed books and 220,000 electronic books.  These books can give you an in-depth look at an historical topic.

To find books in the JSCC Library, use the Online Catalog.

JSCC Tennessee Collection

The JSCC Library has a special collection of Tennessee materials towards the back of the library (Tennessee Collection) 

You may want to browse in the area for information.or use the online catalog in the box above for specific books.

There are many useful books and a great collection of journals..   Here are some of the journals:

  • The Tennessee Historical Magazine is available from 1915-1937
  • The Tennessee Historical Quarterly is available since 1942 to the present . with a cumulative index from 1942-1966.  It is also available online from 1942-2013 on JSTOR.
  • The West Tennessee Historical Society Papers are available from  1947 to the  present  with an index from 1967-1976
  • East Tennessee Historical Society Papers  are available from  1930-2006   Cumulative Index 1949-1963

There is a bibliography of Tennessee History (Tennessee Collection  Z 1337 .S55) which goes through 1974.

Interlibrary Loan

If you need a book that the JSCC Library doesn't own, please contact Robyn Hicks (rhicks@jscc.edu)
Provide her with the author, title, date of publication and publisher.

The Library then asks another library to loan us the book.  We use the Online College Library Center to connect us to most academic libraries in the country.

It takes about 2 weeks for a book to be sent here from another library.

Finding Journal Articles About Historical Topics

American History in Video

Do you want to view a video presentation on a topic that you are studying in American History?  Use the JSCC Library's American History in Video series.

From off campus, you will be asked for your Netlogon.

Citing your Sources

Finding Background Information about American History

Here is an excellent resource  that provides overviews of topics in American History or provides biographical information.

Gettting Assistance from the JSCC Library

You can contact the JSCC Library by phone (1-800-355-5722, ext 52609)

or use the Ask a Librarian chat service.

chat loading...

Find Everything in the Library at Once