This is the "Home" page of the "JSCC Library Resources for Trinity Christian Academy Students. English Composiition" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

JSCC Library Resources for Trinity Christian Academy Students. English Composiition  

Last Updated: Sep 28, 2015 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page

Finding a book

You have access to over 54,000 printed books and 220,000 electronic books.  These books can give you an in-depth look at literary topics

To find books in the JSCC Library, use the Online Catalog

You will be asked for your Netlogon to access the electronic books in the Online Catalog. 

Streaming Media

  • Literary videos
    You have access to various films about works of literature.
  • Discovery Films
    A rich collection of over 4,500 films from the Discovery Channel and other sources. The films are often broken into segments. The collection covers all types of subjects. Excellent.

Accessing the JSCC Library from Home

When you access the JSCC Library electronic databases or electronic books, you will be prompted for a username and password.  This is your Netlogon that you received when you registered.

If you haven't created your Netlogon, go to:

Scroll down the page until you see "Netlogon Tools" on the right hand side.

Fill out the form (your campus ID is your J number).  You will be given a username by the system and you will be asked to create yourpassword. 

Be sure to write your username and password down somewhere.  If you have difficulties, call Scott Cohen at 1-800-355-5722, ext 615 or email him at


    Reference works in the JSCC Library

    • Credo Reference
      Background information from many different subject encyclopedias and dictionaries comprise the Credo Reference series. Credo also provides direct links to other library resources.

    Finding Magazines and Journals

    • Academic Onefile
      This database provides access to full-text articles in magazines and journals from throughout the English speaking world.
    • JSTOR
      JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that creates and maintains an archive of important scholarly journals. "JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines, including ecology, economics, history, language, literature, mathematics and sociology."
    • Masterfile Premier
      Contains full-text articles in over 1700 magazines and journals. Indexing and abstracts for over 2700 titles. Subjects covered include general interest, business, health, social sciences, education, humanities, news and current events. Useful for almost any topic.
    • Issues and Controversies
      Great for finding objective reports on controversial issues.
      Often presents both sides of an issue.

    Literature Resources in the JSCC Library

    • Literature Resource Center
      Great source for articles dealing with authors, themes of literary works and other aspects of literary works.
    • MagillOnLiterature Plus
      MagillOnLiterature Plus provides critical analyses and descriptions of major works of literature, as well as information on individual authors.

    Searching Google Effectively

    To narrow down a Google search, try this approach:

    Put your topic in the search box  (for example immigration reform)   then put site:gov or site:edu, etc. to narrow to a specific domain

    immigration site:gov  (this gives you only government sites)

    Using the JSCC Library

    As a dual enrollment student, you can use the online resources of the JSCC Library, but you can also check out up to 8 books since you are a student at Jackson State. 

    If you come to the campus library, a librarian will be on duty to assist you find information. 

    Please call Scott Cohen at 425-2615 or email him at if you are having difficulty in locating information for you paper.


      Citation Guides

      Search Everything in the JSCC Library at once

      • All Search
        Perform a Google type search, but only find JSCC Library resources.

      Scholarly vs. Popular Periodicals

      Scholarly Journals vs. Non-Scholarly magazines

      Scholarly Periodicals publish articles that are useful for serious scholastic research; often, instructors will insist that students use only scholastic periodicals for their research work. 


      Scholarly periodicals are also referred to as Academic Journals or Academic Newspapers, Journals, or Refereed Journals.  "Refereed" means that not only is the journal edited, but that every article included in the journal is reviewed by authorities in the subject field of the journal, to decide whether or not the article should be published.


      Criteria of a scholarly journal or other scholarly periodical:


      The journal is  mostly read by people involved in or interested in the field  of study covered by the journal


      Articles are often lengthy, and include footnotes or endnotes and works cited information


      Graphs, charts, statistical information, and tables are often used to support the text or research


      The vocabulary is geared to the field of study covered by the journal


      The articles are very often peer reviewed (refereed)


       Non-Scholarly Periodicals publish articles that are not considered or meant to be of a highly serious, scholastic nature. 


      This is not to say that the articles in any given non-scholastic magazine or newspaper are false or badly written.  It only means that, for scholarly research purposes, non-scholarly periodicals do not have the recognized level of authority that a scholastic journal usually has.


       Some criteria of a magazine or other non-scholarly periodical:


      The periodical appeals to a general audience; the vocabulary is geared to all readers


      Graphs, tables, and research studies are seldom included


      The articles usually do not have footnotes, endnotes, or bibliographies (works cited)


      The articles tend to be short in length, usually under 10 pages


      Loading  Loading...