Last Updated: Dec 19, 2014
There are several options if you need help in finding information about World Literature
- You can call the JSCC Library at 1-800-355-5722, extension 572 from out of Madison County or 424-3520, extension 572 in Madison County.
- You can come by the JSCC Library and ask a librarian for assistance.
- You can also Ask A Reference Question and get an answer by email.
- Academic Search Elite
This EBSCO database provides access to over 2000 full text journal articles right on your computer.
- Humanities Full-Text
"This database feature full-text articles from scholarly journals in various fields in the
humanities. (language, literature, music, philosophy, etc.) Over 330 journals are covered in full text."
Provides access to older journals in all different types of fields.
- Literature Resource Center
Provides journal articles about authors and specific literary works from all time periods and countries.
- McGill on Literature Plus
"MagillOnLiterature Plus provides critical analyses and descriptions of major works of literature, as well as information on individual authors."
- Oxford English Dictionary
"The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world."
As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from those of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You'll still find these in the OED, but you'll also find the history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to films scripts and cookery books."
You can narrow your Google search to particular domains or areas of the Internet. You can limit to domains like .gov, .edu, .org, etc.
Your search might look like this:
Gilgamesh site:edu or
In this way, you get information from the most reliable or useful sources.
- JSCC Online Catalog
You will be able to locate printed and electronic books by using the online catalog. To check out a book from the JSCC Library, you will need your JSCC photo ID card.
You can read electronic books right on your computer. When you access electronic books from off-campus, you will be prompted for your Netlogon.