Finding a book
You have access to over 57,000 printed books and 145,000 electronic books. These books can give you an in-depth look at literary topics
To find books in the JSCC Library, use the Online Catalog. Look under as many words that relate to your topic that you can think of.
For example if you were looking for information on teenagers and violence you could look under :
- Teenagers or adolescents and violence;
- Domestic Violence and teenagers or adolescents;
- High Schools and Violence;
- Adolescence and dating and violence;
- Dating and Violence and teenagers or adolescents ,
- Teenage relationships, etc.
You will be asked for your Netlogon to access the electronic books in the Online Catalog.
Internet Resources
- Internet Public LibraryReputable Internet sites on various topics. The sites have been chosen by librarians
Accessing the JSCC Library from Home
When you access the JSCC Library electronic databases or electronic books from off-campus , you will be prompted for a username and password.
This is your Netlogon that you use to log on to campus computers or when you use Elearn.
Reference works in the JSCC Library
- Credo ReferenceCredo provides background information from a variety of subject encyclopedias and dictionaries. Students can get an idea of what their topic entails and can develop an outline from the sources in Credo.
Finding Journals, Magazines and Newspapers
These are just a few of the journal databases in the JSCC Library.
- Academic OnefileThis database provides access to full-text articles in magazines and journals from throughout the English speaking world.
- LexisNexisLexisNexis provides access to most of the world's English language newspaper articles.
- Masterfile PremierContains full-text articles in over 1700 magazines and journals. Indexing and abstracts for over 2700 titles. Subjects covered include general interest, business, health, social sciences, education, humanities, news and current events. Useful for almost any topic.
- Find other databasesThis page will give you a list of all the journal databases in the JSCC Library.
Choose from the subject categories which are listed.
The "Academic and General Interest" category provides access to databases that are multi-disciplinary.
Research and Writing Help
Writing Center at Jackson State Community College
- Writing CenterYou can get help with research papers, essays, lab reports, speeches, etc. from excellent, qualified tutors.
Everything is absolutely free.
Getting Help from the JSCC Library
You can call the JSCC Library for assistance at 731-425-2609, come by in person or use the Ask a Librarian feature below.
- Ask a LibrarianContact a JSCC Librarian for help
Controversial Issues Databases
The controversial issues databases in the JSCC Library provide an objective look at controversial issues.
Often, these sources are better than what could be found in a Google search, since you will locate more balanced and unbiased treatment of topics.
- CQ ResearcherExplores a single current issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. 44 reports are produced each year including four expanded reports, available back to 1991.
- Issues and ControversiesProvides up-to-date, in-depth and objective information on over 250 prominent and hotly debated issues of the day. It has clear explanations of opposing points of view.
Access Library through Facebook
Please go to your Facebook account and type in
JSCC Library
You will get all the latest information from the library and be able search for information.

Loading...
