Multicultural Resources

This theoretically innovative anthology investigates the problematic linkages between conserving cultural heritage, maintaining cultural diversity, defining and establishing cultural citizenship, and enforcing human rights. It is the first publication to address the notions of cultural diversity, cultural heritage and human rights in one volume.

This work includes 23 new ethnic groups and contains 152 revised ethnic entries on specific minority groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns. The encyclopedia also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans and Amish.

Provides primary source documents focused on immigration and multiculturalism in the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. Contains approximately 175 full or excerpted documents - speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art - as well as overview information that places each document in context. International in scope.

As the best single-source collection of classic and contemporary readings on the subject, this anthology will be a valuable reference to scholars of immigration, race and ethnicity, national identity, and the history of ideas, and indispensable for courses in history and the social sciences dealing with these topics.

The globalization of trade and increasing international travel and migration poses huge challenges for health practitioners and policy makers who have to meet legal and policy obligations to provide health care of equal quality and effectiveness for all. Migration, Ethnicity, Race, and Health in Multicultural Societies provides an accessible introduction to the complex issues of race, ethnicity and minority populations.

This comprehensive title is among the first to extensively use newly released 2010 U.S. Census data to examine multiculturalism today and tomorrow in America. Pedagogical elements include an introduction, a thematic reader's guide, a chronology of multicultural milestones, a glossary, a resource guide to key books, journals, and Internet sites, and an appendix of 2010 U.S. Census Data.

The Music of Multicultural America explores the intersection of performance, identity, and community in a wide range of musical expressions. Fifteen essays explore traditions that range from the Klezmer revival in New York, to Arab music in Detroit, to West Indian steel bands in Brooklyn, to Kathak music and dance in California, to Irish music in Boston, to powwows in the midwestern plains, to Hispanic and Native musics of the Southwest borderlands.