LibGuides: ENGL 1010: English Composition I, Dr. McDonald: Library Resources

Suggested Databases

Issues and Controversies
"Provides up-to-date, in-depth and objective information on over 250 prominent and hotly debated issues of the day. It combines objective analysis, clear explanations of opposing points of view and special features, so you can quickly grasp the essentials of even the most complex topics. It includes chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies and contact information."
JSTOR
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that creates and maintains an archive of important scholarly journals. "JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high- resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines, including ecology, economics, history, language, literature, mathematics and sociology."
ERIC
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is a government resource that provides access to research reports and articles dealing with all aspects of education.
Education Full Text
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Multi-disciplinary database covering virtually every area of academic study. Contains 1,850 scholarly journals, including nearly 1,300 peer-reviewed titles.

Web-Based Instruction and Community College Faculty Workload
by Davison M. Mupinga and George R. Maughan

more... less...

ABSTRACT
Faculty workload is based on the amount of time spent on teaching, research, and service. The workload varies according to institutional focus, teaching field, type of course, course level, and instructional format. Compared with traditional face-to-face courses, online courses require a disproportionate investment of time and effort by faculty, necessitating special consideration when calculating faculty workload. The authors examine the workload for faculty teaching online courses in community colleges, specifically, the number of online classes taught per semester, class sizes for online courses, incentives for online instructors and how the workload for online instructors is calculated.
Gender, Equity and the Discourse of the Independent Learner in Higher Education
by Carole Leathwood
ABSTRACT
The 'independent learner' is a key construct within discourses of educational policy and practice in the UK. Government policy statements stress the importance of developing learner independence, and higher education pedagogical practices tend to rest on the assumption that students are independent learners.

Operation Pedro Pan History YouTube
History of the Operation Pedro Pan exodus - the largest recorded exodus of unaccompanied children in the western hemisphere - Cuban parents sent their children alone to the United States to escape repression and Communist indoctrination between 1960 and 1962 - Produced by Eloísa Echazábal