Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding a book
You have access to over 37,000 printed books and 220,000 electronic books. These books can give you an in-depth look at an historical topic.
To find books in the JSCC Library, use the Online Catalog
You may also want to come into the JSCC Library and browse in the various subject areas of the library. Searching the indexes of printed books can be very helpful.
If you need a book that the JSCC Library doesn't own, please contact Vanessa Jones (firstname.lastname@example.org)
Provide her with the author, title, date of publication and publisher.
The Library then asks another library to loan us the book. We use the Online College Library Center to connect us to most academic libraries in the country.
It takes about 2 weeks for a book to be sent here from another library.
Difference Between Primary and Secondary Sources
Great source of information from historical newspapers. Created by the Library of Congress.
Finding Journal Articles About Historical Topics
Humanities Full Text
This database provides full text of journal articles from history, as well as literature.
Find older articles in full-text here. Some articles are from the early 1900's
American History in Video
Do you want to view a video presentation on a topic that you are studying in American History? Use the JSCC Library's American History in Video series.
From off campus, you will be asked for your Netlogon.
Finding Background Information about American History
Here is an excellent resource that provide overviews of topics in American History or provide biographical information.
Search Everything in the Library
Search all the library's holdings in one search. This is great for when you want to see if the library has enough information for a research paper or when you can't find much on a topic.
Need Help? Ask a Librarian!
American Expansionism 1783-1860: A Manifest Destiny
"This book surveys the history of U.S. territorial expansion from the end of the American Revolution until 1860. The book explores the concept of 'Manifest Destiny' and asks why, if expansion was 'manifest,' there was such opposition to almost every expansionist incident."
Race and Manifest Destiny
" Reginald Horsman's book is the first study to examine the origins of racialism in America and to show that the belief in white American superiority was firmly ensconced in the nation's ideology by 1850."
Primary Source Materials
Primary Documents in American History
"The Library of Congress is home to many of the most important documents in American history. This Web site provides links to materials digitized from the collections of the Library of Congress that supplement and enhance the study of these crucial documents." Covers the years 1775-1872.
"Volunteer Voices provides a central point for accessing digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, oral histories, artifacts, etc.) that document the history and culture of Tennessee."