Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Journal Articles about topics in Art Appreciation
Academic Search Elite
Provides access to over 2000 full text journal articles right on your computer
Art Full Text
Great source for finding journal articles in the field of art.
Provides access to older journals in all different types of fields.
Need Help? Ask a Librarian!
Finding Books in the JSCC Library
JSCC Online Catalog
You will be able to locate printed and electronic books, as well as DVDs and videocassettes by using the online catalog. To check out a book from the JSCC Library, you will need your JSCC photo ID card.
You can read electronic books right on your computer. When you access electronic books from off-campus, you will be prompted for your Netlogon.
Search 112,000 electronic books only, some of which are in the field of art.
Reference works dealing with Art Appreciation
These reference sources provide background information on topics for your paper.
Credo provides a background on many different aspects of art.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture is the most current and comprehensive reference resource for the visual arts of the Classical period. It features an abundance of in-depth articles on this field of enduring importance—from biographies to thematic entries on architecture, ceramics, metalwork, mosaics, painting and sculpture.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture
The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture is the most comprehensive reference work in this complex and diverse area of art history. Built on the acclaimed scholarship of the Grove Dictionary of Art, this work offers over 1,600 up-to-date entries on Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Central and South Asia, Africa, and Europe and spans over a thousand years of history.
Web Sites Dealing with Art Appreciation
A guide to art museums throughout the world
Google Arts & Culture
With Google Arts & Culture, users can explore collections from the Rijksmuseum in the Netherlands, The State Hermitage Museum in Russia, the Museo Frida Kahlo in Mexico, and many more.
Musée du Louvre and Musée National Eugène-Delacroix Collections
The Collections database consists of entries for more than 480,000 works in the Musée du Louvre and Musée National Eugène-Delacroix. Updated on a daily basis, it is the result of the continuous research and documentation efforts carried out by teams of experts from both museums.
National Gallery of Art
"From Byzantine altarpieces to pop art, learn all about paintings, sculpture, prints, drawings, photographs, and other works in the collection. Browse the collection and make connections among objects you know and newly discovered masterpieces."