The ICE Video Library provides excellent visual resources to both faculty and students in physical and occupational therapy curriculum. All videos are filmed with actual patients and therapists in real-life treatment settings including acute care, skilled nursing, outpatient, home health and ICU.
You will need to set up your own username and password to start using this great resource.when you first log on. As an OTA, you may want to try to learn a foreign language to better serve your clientele.
"Designed for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers, this database provides full text for nearly 400 journals covering the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and allied health disciplines."
"PsycARTICLES is the source of searchable full-text, peer-reviewed, scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. Covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research with articles from 66 journals."
"A database from the U.S. National Library of Medicine covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences. It provides access to over 11 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals throughout the world. PubMed includes links to some sites providing full text articles and other related resources"
Occupational Therapy Journals in Print in the JSCC Library
"The American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA) is the national professional association established in 1917 to represent the interests and concerns of occupational therapy practitioners and students of occupational therapy and to improve the quality of occupational therapy."
"Serving the public interest by advancing client care and professional practice through evidence-based certification standards and the validation of knowledge essential for effective practice in occupational therapy."
Information about the career of occupational therapy assistants. This is from the Occupational Outlook Handbook from the Department of Labor Statistics.
Evidence Based: What Does This Mean?
The most common definition of Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) is from Dr. David Sackett. EBP is "the conscientious, explicit and judicious use of current best evidence in making decisions about the care of the individual patient. It means integrating individual clinical expertise with the best available external clinical evidence from systematic research" (Sackett, D., 1996). EBP is the integration of clinical expertise, patient values, and the best research evidence into the decision-making process for patient care.
From: What is Evidence Based Practice? 2018. Duke University EBP Tutorial