Open Educational Resources (OER)

Amara's award-winning technology enables you to caption and subtitle any video for free. If you are using videos in your classes, this will help make them more accessible.

Users can search the open textbook collection and use their resources to help create open textbooks.

Get free access to hundreds of free textbooks written by professors from the world’s top universities, all on one easy-to-access online ebook platform.

This resource from the state of California offers free and open eTextbooks, course materials, online courses, and other OER materials.

CORE contains the world’s largest collection of open access research papers.

DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available. Contains 43,230 academic peer-reviewed books from 623 publishers.

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

Special Issue: The Intersections of Open Educational Practices and Equity Pedagogy. There are several publications available for download.

Lyryx offers open texts and resources for business, economics, and mathematics and statistics. They have partnered with OpenStax to provide their educational software to pair with their open texts in mathematics, statistics, and accounting.

The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.

Milne Library Publishing at SUNY Geneseo manages and maintains Milne Open Textbooks, a catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff.

OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum.

This is a collaborative effort led by David Lane of Rice University. The core material is an interactive textbook that is best used over the Internet to take advantage of the embedded questions created in JavaScript. The PDF version that can be downloaded simply shows the answers in a different font following the questions. An attractive feature of Online Statistics is the suite of case studies making use of the actual data from published studies in the scientific literature and popular media. The data sets for the case studies are provided as Excel files. The website also provides some computational tools running in the browser for the statistical calculations needed for the analysis of the case studies, although instructors may prefer to use free software such as R or software already available at their institutions.

A resource guide from Skyline College Library at Skyline College, a California community college.

OHP is an international community of scholars, editors and readers with a focus on critical and cultural theory. They have operated as a independent volunteer initiative since 2006, promoting open access scholarship in journals, books and exploring new forms of scholarly communication.

Open Library is an open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book ever published.

The Open Library of Humanities (OLH) is a charitable organisation dedicated to publishing open access scholarship with no author-facing article processing charges (APCs). All of their academic articles are subject to rigorous peer review and the scholarship they publish showcases some of the most dynamic research taking place in the humanities disciplines today – from classics, modern languages and cultures, philosophy, theology and history, to political theory, sociology, anthropology, film and new media studies, and digital humanities.

This page lists environmental science course materials that Oregon community college and university instructors are using to reduce textbook costs in their courses. Use the search function to find materials for other classes and subjects.

The Open Research Library (ORL) is planned to include all Open Access book content worldwide on one platform for user-friendly discovery, offering a seamless experience navigating more than 14,000 Open Access books. This vital infrastructure is slated to comprise the most comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed Open Access books accessible for everyone.

OpenStax is a nonprofit educational technology initiative based at Rice University. Since 2012, OpenStax has created peer-reviewed, openly-licensed textbooks, which are available in free digital formats and for a low cost in print.

Open textbooks are licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost. The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Open Education Network.

A resource from Tennessee Research and Creative Exchange (TRACE) at University of Tennessee Knoxville. Please scroll down on the page to see the available open textbooks.

The Open Textbooks Pilot program supports projects at eligible institutions of higher education that create new open textbooks and expand the use of open textbooks in courses that are part of a degree-granting program, particularly those with high enrollments. This pilot program emphasizes the development of projects that demonstrate the greatest potential to achieve the highest level of savings for students through sustainable, expanded use of open textbooks in high-enrollment courses or in programs that prepare individuals for in-demand fields.

The open textbooks include several titles published through Saylor Academy’s Open Textbook Challenge and a collection of titles re-published by Saylor Academy in 2012.

The US Department of Labor’s Trade Adjustment Assistance Community College and Career Training (TAACCCT) program created a free and open online library called SkillsCommons containing free and open learning materials and program support materials for job-driven workforce development. The $1.9 billion investment by the US Department of Labor produced a comprehensive collection of workforce-related Open Educational Resources (OER) created by over 700 community colleges across the nation. The OER can be found, reused, revised, retained, redistributed and remixed by an individual, institution, and industry for FREE with the proper attribution to the original author of the resources.

Smithsonian Open Access allows users to download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images. Users have access to more than 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from Smithsonian collections, which includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.

Open SUNY Textbooks is an open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants. This pilot initiative published high-quality, cost-effective course resources by engaging faculty as authors and peer-reviewers, and libraries as publishing service and infrastructure.

The Tennessee Open Education Hub brings together the intellectual and creative power of faculty throughout the state, providing a place to build and share resources with the common goal of improving student learning outcomes. Includes collections of course materials created by colleges and universities in Tennessee and course materials created by faculty, institutions, and organizations around the world.