Study Abroad Program

If you've ever wanted to backpack in Europe... If you want to relive your adventures... If you love good travel writing... Better than guidebooks, these first-person accounts paint vivid pictures of a traveler's experience in Europe. Like familiar music and favorite scents, they'll awaken a taste for adventure in those who have yet to travel, and bring back memories for those who have. Romance, surprise, discovery and wisdom all bubble through these authors' inviting pieces. At last, a collection of first-person eye-witness adventures that will keep you laughing, wondering, and walking with the well-traveled story tellers who take you inside Europe's must-see places.

Print book
Americans have a voracious appetite for Italy. It remains a primary destination for travel, art history, cuisine, and more. Like no other source, Culture and Customs of Italy engagingly explains the scope of Italy and Italians today to students and general readers in one volume. As well, this book provides the needed context to understand the enormous contributions of Italian Americans in shaping the cultural heritage and current popular culture of the United States. It clearly summarizes the land, people, and history and relates the highlights of a culture that has excelled in so many areas, such as food, sports, literature, the arts, architecture and design, and cinema. The powerful roles of religion and thought, family and gender, holidays, leisure, and media in Italian life are treated in-depth in individual chapters as well. Crucial regional aspects and historical framing of all topics add to the authoritativeness. A chronology, glossary, photos, and maps round out the coverage.

eBook
CultureShock! Italy is the must-have guide for anyone living or working in Italy and who wants to decipher this diverse and rich country. This book will guide you through the highs and lows of adapting to Italian culture, offering useful tips and suggestions along the way. Learn about the geographical diversity of the country and how to hire a geometra for all your accommodation needs. Navigate your way through Italian body language and discover what it really means. Understand Italian family values and pick up tips on business etiquette. Through CultureShock! Italy, you will not only understand the country and its people, but learn how to adapt to and appreciate its unique and valuable qualities.

eBook
The most current account of the richly complex and critically important history of Italy from the Romans to the height of the Renaissance, and from the long struggle for unification to the second world war and post war economic success. What is Italy? In 1814 Austrian Chancellor M. de Metternich dismissed it as a mere "geographical expression." He could say so because political control of the peninsula had for centuries been divided among self-governing cities, possessions of foreign dynasties, and the Vatican. Prior to that Italy formed the "home base" of the Roman Empire. It was not until 1861, however, that a united Italy emerged. This concise, and clearly written account explores Italian history and culture from the Etruscans up to the present day.

Print book
Filled with great masterpieces by such artists as Botticelli, Leonardo, Raphael, Michelangelo, Masaccio, Piero della Francesca, Mantegna, and Titian, How to Read Italian Renaissance Painting takes the reader into their world. As in the internationally successful and innovative How to Read a Painting, each spread uses an important painting as a way to explain a key concept, with numerous large details. Here, 180 works illuminate key ideas in Renaissance painting, from "perpective" and "the golden section" to "grace" and "symbolism." In addition, there are brief biographies of the major artists. The result is an original, accessible, and affordable volume that offers an introduction into the art and culture of the Italian Renaissance.

Print book
Before the 1860s, Italy was not a unified nation but a collection of different kingdoms and territories. Even so, Italy has an ancient, colorful past. This book explores Italy's history and future prospects, from the rise of the Roman Empire to modern-day problems with the Mafia and corruption in government.

Italy delights and stimulates with its magnificent cities and monuments, its stunningly beautiful landscapes, the glory of its art and architecture, the richness and variety of its food, the elegance of its design and fashion, and the vitality and charm of its people. Italian style and culture have been exported all over the world. What is it like at home? The Italians are the most European-minded of nations, having emerged from a long history of regional fragmentation. Culture Smart! Italy introduces you to their history and culture and offers an insider's guide to their daily lives, passions, and preoccupations. This is your chance to get to know them better.

eBook
This essential book fills a serious gap in the field by synthesizing modern Italian history and placing it in a fully European context. Emphasizing globalization, Italy traces the country's transformation from a land of emigration to one of immigration and its growing cultural importance. Including coverage of the April 2008 elections, this updated edition offers expanded examinations of contemporary Italy's economic, social, and cultural development, a deepened discussion on immigration, and four new biographical sketches. Author Spencer M. Di Scala discusses the role of women, gives ample attention to the Italian South, and provides a picture of how ordinary Italians live. Cast in a clear and lively style that will appeal to readers, this comprehensive account is an indispensable addition to the field.

Print book
This classic textbook covers the social, economic and political history of Italy from unification in 1870 to the present time. This new edition brings students right up to date, with increased coverage of the the 1980's and 90's and a new section on the turbulent reign of Silvio Berlusconi. Other changes include updating the coverage of Liberal Italy and Fascism in the light of recent scholarship and changes in historiographical approach, additional material on Italian popular culture and a new chronology.