Government Resources

• Database that provides open-access publications and documents from the legislative, judicial and executive branches of the federal government (includes the Monthly Catalog of US Government Publications).

Data.Gov

• Open data hub used for conducting research on the federal government. Topics consist of agriculture, climate, energy, local government, maritime, ocean and elderly health. Utilize keyword and advanced search tools to find specific data.

United States Census Bureau - Explore Census Data

• Can be used for exploring data collections pertaining to the United States census. Provided are data profiles of the US (by state or nationwide), map visualizers, data sets, and more.

• GPO is responsible for the dissemination of federal publications. Only official government documents are accessible on this site.  

USAGov

• This is the web portal for the United States Federal Government, providing users with information about grants, loans, social security, food assistance, student financial aid, military programs, retirement, government agencies, jobs, money/taxes, travel/immigration, and links to all related government databases and websites.

Government Accountability Office

• Supreme auditing authority of the US, the site can be used to track actions of the GAO, view the most prioritized topics and agencies, and to explore bid protests and appropriations law.

Cable-Satellite Public Affairs Network (C-SPAN)

• Non-profit news network that televises and streams federal affairs programming and proceedings. Accessible online as well.

• This is a tool used to search for federal publications relevant to both the past and the present. Using the advanced search tool, users can often locate full documents. The site also allows users to locate the nearest Federal Depository Library.

• Official journal of the U.S. Provides users with access to government agency rules (proposed and confirmed), public notices, statistics, and Presidential documents.

• Full text newspaper articles, business, legal, and reference information. It includes current/past issues of many U.S. and international newspapers, company news and financial information, country and state profiles, medical and reference sources, trade journals and magazines, industry and market news and trends, legal reviews, and case law, and biographical information.

• Provides information about controversial issues from a variety of sources. Often there are pro and con articles about these issues. Excellent place to start for a persuasive paper or speech.

• The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.

• A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.